Trip WAY longer than it should be.

Hello. Newbie here. I have a Tom Tom One Third Edition. I bought it as a Christmas ('08) present for myself and my wife. I updated it to the latest maps around the 26th of December '08 with the freebie code I got in the box. I just updated the mapshare two days ago. This thing has been fantastic on short trips (2 hours or less). But I really bought it for long trips. My family usually vacations in the Smokies or Gulf Shores, Alabama. We're vacationing in Gulf Shores this year so I thought I would go ahead and have the Tom Tom plot the trip just to make sure everything was working properly. Boy am I glad I didn't wait until the last minute. 3087 Highway B, Perryville, MO 63775 was the departure location and 24114 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL was the destination. Tom Tom calculated the quickest route to be 727 miles with an elapsed time of 12:30. Second best was 747 miles with a travel time of 12:10. Now here is the kicker. I've made this trip 3 - 4 tiimes in the last 10 years. It is a 600 and change mile trip lasting 9:45 to 10:30 depending on how often you stop for bathroom breaks. Expedia, Mapquest, google maps and my mother-in-laws Garmin all agree within 10 miles and 15 minutes of one another. 614 miles and 10:20 -10:35. Can anyone give me a clue why the Tom Tom is so poor at calculating this course. These highways are not new either folks. We're talking 20 years plus. I'm going to have to get rid of this thing if this is the best it can do. Any help? Please?
JVersh.
Oh, Tom Tom's Route Assistant (or whatever the hell it's called) that you can link to from TOM TOM Home agrees with the afformentioned service's routes and times but you cannot transfer the route directly to the Tom Tom. You can only transfer the departure site and destinations and then have your Tom Tom calculate the route. And that bites.