tomtom home with windows 10

Discussion in 'TomTom News & Announcements' started by JPSMITH69, Sep 6, 2015.

  1. JPSMITH69

    JPSMITH69

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL730
    After installing a clean windows 10 update ON MY LAPTOP.Tomtom home will not update my GO730 with the new maps. I spoken to tomtom support but they have been unable to rectify, the error message starts "TOMTOM HOME COULD NOT CREATE C:\USERS\PHIL LAPTOP\DOCUMENTS\TOMTOM\HOME\DOWNLOADS\COMPLETE"
    In view of this I connected to an old win 7 machine and my tomtom is updated any thoughts

    Help
     
    JPSMITH69, Sep 6, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JPSMITH69

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,017
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Sep 6, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. JPSMITH69

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,904
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I think that he was starting with a clean Win10 and clean Home. Almost sounds like a permissions issue with Win10, dhn. The path specified should be legit, but sounds like Win10 isn't willing to go there.
    I'd be considering a compatibility mode attempt to see if that works. I would run both the installer for Home and Home itself in compatibility mode to see if that resolves it.

    After uninstalling Home with Revo per dhn's suggestion above and downloading a fresh copy of the Home installer ......

    Right-click on the Home installer app and select Properties.
    Select the Compatibility tab, then check the box next to "Run this program in compatibility mode for:
    To be safe, I'd select XP SP3
    Hit Apply, then run the Home install app

    Do the same as above for Home itself once installed.
     
    canderson, Sep 6, 2015
    #3
  4. JPSMITH69

    JPSMITH69

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL730
    Thanks followed your answer still the same
     
    JPSMITH69, Sep 7, 2015
    #4
  5. JPSMITH69

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,017
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you do what canderson advised??
     
    dhn, Sep 7, 2015
    #5
  6. JPSMITH69

    JPSMITH69

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL730
    Yes I have .I have 2 sd cards which I save my maps 1 for north Europe that's a 2 gb .this is now updated the second sd card is an 8 gb which I load all of Europe onto .Doing this for years no problems. However now the 8 gb shows it needs to be updated by tomtom home but it wont update it .I get the message after trying to update after an age. Didn't update as stopped try again .I have not stopped home just left to update tried a couple of times the same answer .Do you think the 8 gb card is the problem.Thanks so far.
     
    JPSMITH69, Sep 9, 2015
    #6
  7. JPSMITH69

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,017
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Shouldn't be but call support:
    United Kingdom
    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    dhn, Sep 10, 2015
    #7
  8. JPSMITH69

    JPSMITH69

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL730
    Thanks for your help. Before ringing support again I changed the Compatibility tab, then check the box next to "Run this program in compatibility mode to win 8 and it now works. I am lost as to why but thanks for all your help.
     
    JPSMITH69, Sep 12, 2015
    #8
  9. JPSMITH69

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Welcome to the wonderful world of Windows 10.
    All the sages, like Windows Secrets (former Langa list), suggest to wait 6 month to make sure a lot of software drivers have caught up to 10.

    (When XP came out the compatibility checker nixed 60 % of my hardware and software on my W98 machine. By the time SP3 came out 100 % was approved and I switched.)
     
    Arno, Sep 12, 2015
    #9
  10. JPSMITH69

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,904
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    A lot of that in the XP days was Microsoft's WHQL program, which could be a right booger to get through. Too often, it 86'd a perfectly good driver for spurious reasons, and there was a lot of back and forth required with Microsoft to clear those issues so that WHQL certification could be completed and a 'signed' driver provided to users. People were rightly concerned about unsigned drivers, and a lot of companies wouldn't release them on their own sites. And of course, there was no way that Microsoft would incorporate them directly into native Windows XP driver support without WHQL.

    Anyway, I suspect that the OP's problem was rather different ... most likely a path/permissions issue.
     
    canderson, Sep 13, 2015
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.