TomTom Carminat SD

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by badis, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. badis

    badis

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Carminat
    Hi Guys,

    I've a built in TomTom Carminat in my Renault Megane that I bought missing the SD card, so I inserted the SD card from my Tomtom GO 720 but does seems to work!
    any help please?

    thanks
     
    badis, Jun 30, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. badis

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,445
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You could check with support:

    Australia
    1300 135 604
    Monday-Friday:9:00 am to 5:30 pm AEST
     
    dhn, Jun 30, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. badis

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    The Carminat units have no internal memory, so not only the map data but also the operating system and firmware have to be included on the card. Only rarely will someone set up a 720 to boot off the SD card, so there's very little chance that the SD card had any OS or firmware on it to run the Carminat unit. THEN, even if the 720 firmware would have been on the card, and would have run on a Carminat unit, you've got the problem that maps are keyed to device serial numbers, so had the Carminat booted up, you still wouldn't have had maps.

    Too bad the original owner didn't leave the card for you.
     
    canderson, Jul 1, 2016
    #3
    badis likes this.
  4. badis

    badis

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Carminat

    Any way to recreate one myself? I mean by get a new empty SD then download and install the required OS and maps?


    Thanks
     
    badis, Jul 1, 2016
    #4
  5. badis

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,137
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Not trivial. Normally, a fresh copy of firmware would be triggered by connecting the 'empty' device to a USB port with TomTom HOME running and a freshly formatted 2GB SD card inserted. However, not so easy in your case. There, it would do so if it found an SD card inserted into a card reader on your PC --- but it would have to be a card with at least an OS on it, which you do not have.

    I think dhn's suggestion to contact support is your best next move.
     
    canderson, Jul 1, 2016
    #5
    badis likes this.
  6. badis

    badis

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Carminat

    Thanks for the info.
     
    badis, Jul 1, 2016
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. roadrunna

    carminat tomtom

    roadrunna, Jul 25, 2010, in forum: In-Dash Navigation
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    4,492
    roadrunna
    Jul 26, 2010
  2. mega34

    POI to Tomtom Carminat

    mega34, Oct 31, 2010, in forum: In-Dash Navigation
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,883
  3. memmert

    How to format an SD card on a TomTom Carminat?

    memmert, Feb 28, 2012, in forum: Hardware and Peripherals
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    8,710
    memmert
    Feb 29, 2012
  4. zhong
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    558
    zhong
    Sep 24, 2016
  5. Twaine
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    518
    - et -
    Sep 28, 2016
  6. torrente2008

    Tomtom go can only boot from external sd

    torrente2008, Oct 6, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    602
  7. Enzito
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    796
    canderson
    Oct 31, 2016
  8. zejulios

    Get POI from SD

    zejulios, Jan 3, 2017, in forum: In-Dash Navigation
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    454
Loading...