TomTom 50M - Model info please?

Discussion in 'Which TomTom Should I Buy?' started by Blueknight, May 5, 2013.

  1. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    I recently bought a start 50M at bestbuy. I have searched and searched but can't really find out any info,it's not even listed on tomTom's site. Is this an older model? What version of Nav does it have? Can I change the menu options to get the compass? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Bought in the US.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2013
    Blueknight, May 5, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Blueknight

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,469
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Actually both are relatively new models but they use Home 2 and not MyTomTom. So the user does have access to the file system. The 50 has EasyMenu which means reduced functionality. Not sure about the 55.

    No, you can't get the compass back with a modification.
     
    dhn, May 5, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    Thanks for the reply. This is my 1st gps and although I am happy with it and excuse my ignorance but is there anyway to get more from this gps with that menu modification I have been reading about?
     
    Blueknight, May 5, 2013
    #3
  4. Blueknight

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,469
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
  5. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    Thanks again,I tried that already and to no avail. I guess if I want more features I'll have to save and buy a more expensive unit.
     
    Blueknight, May 5, 2013
    #5
  6. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    I held the power button down on my device till I got to this screen

    TomTom ONE (tm) TomTom 2003-2010 Build -N/A-
    Hardware type: TomTom XXL IQ Routes Edition
    SubID (feature) 0 1: 0001 (0000000D00000000)
    Bootloader version: S5.5282 clist#842429 RVCT

    I'll be skipping some things that are self explanatory

    Device ID GU2053D00967

    Can anyone give me any idea what all that means? Thanks.
     
    Blueknight, May 8, 2013
    #6
  7. Blueknight

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,469
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Indeed, the serial number points to this model: Start 50 / Start 55 - 2GB
     
    dhn, May 8, 2013
    #7
  8. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    I did buy the Start 50M,it is just kind of surprising to me that this info other than the device ID says tomtom one and xxl IQ routes edition. Unless they base all of their devices off the one and xxl.
     
    Blueknight, May 8, 2013
    #8
  9. Blueknight

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,469
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The Start 50 is indeed a rebranded older model. At a time when TomTom was producing nothing but what we refer to as Nav 3 devices (requiring MyTomTom and NOT Home 2), it was somewhat of a surprise that models such as the Start 50 appeared and still relied upon Home 2.

    Think it was done so that TomTom could align its products as either Go, Via or Start models. But it just added to confusion in the long run.
     
    dhn, May 8, 2013
    #9
  10. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    I've also noticed that there is no reset button on the bottom of the Start 50M.
     
    Blueknight, May 20, 2013
    #10
  11. Blueknight

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,154
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    They haven't used dedicated reset buttons in the bottom for quite some time. Ever since the x40 series, it's the holding of the power button for 10~15 sec that serves as the system reset.
     
    canderson, May 20, 2013
    #11
  12. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    The reason I said that is because I went to the TT web site and it said the reset button was on the bottom. But thanks for the info.
     
    Blueknight, May 21, 2013
    #12
  13. Blueknight

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Rule #1.... Never trust the TomTom website to tell you the truth. :rolleyes:
     
    Andy_P, May 21, 2013
    #13
  14. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    Yeah I figured they were wrong when it wasn't there lol.
     
    Blueknight, May 21, 2013
    #14
  15. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    What is in the GPS device that makes the compass work? Is there an actual compass in there or is it software and satellites working together? The reason I am asking is because I put the old easymenu on my start 50m and I gained a few things and lost a few and the compass was one of the things I gained.
     
    Blueknight, May 21, 2013
    #15
  16. Blueknight

    Blueknight

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 50M
    Oh,1 more thing. I connected my device to home for the 1st time in about a week and I'm not getting the quickfixgps update.
     
    Blueknight, May 21, 2013
    #16
  17. Blueknight

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,154
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    There's no magnetic compass in use. It senses your general direction as of your last movement.

    If you go MORE than a week without QuickGPSFix data, let us know. It doesn't always appear on each connect, but if it stops appearing for some length of time, we'll need for you to delete a few files to get the constipation cleared up.
     
    canderson, May 22, 2013
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. ppeetteer

    one XL info required please

    ppeetteer, Apr 27, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    507
  2. greal

    Go 930 owners: please help with info

    greal, Nov 24, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    787
  3. macphisto23

    Please help me pick the right model to use with google earth.

    macphisto23, Apr 26, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    702
  4. Brigham

    Please, please, please help!

    Brigham, Nov 1, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,126
  5. westcoast1

    France info please

    westcoast1, Jul 7, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,282
  6. della
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    738
    della
    Oct 11, 2013
  7. drfuller

    TOMTOM Start 50M

    drfuller, May 13, 2014, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,038
    drfuller
    May 13, 2014
  8. HiFly62

    Map from one model to different model

    HiFly62, Apr 6, 2015, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    647
    HiFly62
    Apr 6, 2015
Loading...