TOLL ROAD LOCATIONS


Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
34
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5100
My son in Law often drives in the Republic of Ireland and I believe his Sat Nav informs him of where the toll roads are. Not sure what Sat Nav he has though.

I have the TomTom GO 5100. Looking through the menu and checking the Road Maps on MyDive Connect I cannot see any reference to Toll Roads. Can anyone tell me if there is a way to locate toll roads on my sat nav so that I can avoid them if possible?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,133
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
If you plan a route, you can configure your unit to avoid all toll roads. The configuration option is "Route Planning", and you can "Avoid on every route" if you like. That feature can be used for regular avoidance of toll roads, carpool lanes, unpaved roads, among other things.

If you want to be selective about avoiding certain toll roads while accepting others, it gets a good bit more complicated.
 
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
34
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5100
If you plan a route, you can configure your unit to avoid all toll roads. The configuration option is "Route Planning", and you can "Avoid on every route" if you like. That feature can be used for regular avoidance of toll roads, carpool lanes, unpaved roads, among other things.

If you want to be selective about avoiding certain toll roads while accepting others, it gets a good bit more complicated.

OK, I took your excellent advice and went to "Settings", on my TomTom, selected "Route Planning" and selected Toll Roads under "Avoid on every route".

Tried planning a route to Dublin Ireland on my I-Mac through Tom-tom MyDrive Connect.

Firstly I planned the route avoiding Toll roads and secondly planned the route without avoiding Toll Roads. I know for certain that there is a toll road at the Dublin Port tunnel into Dublin, but both the routes planned took me on exactly the same route and through the Dublin road tunnel Toll.

Does the "Avoid on every route" only work if the route is chosen on the TomTom Device rather than planning routes through MyDrive Connect?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,133
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
That's correct. The device does not share its configuration information with MyDrive Connect. Plan those routes on the device with and without the "no toll" configuration and you will get two different routes.
For what it's worth, it IS possible to create a "No Route Possible" result if there are no possible ways of getting somewhere without paying a toll, but you've restricted tolls!

We've asked TomTom to add the same kind of routing restrictions to the MyDrive Connect page as exist on the devices themselves, but so far, no action there.
 
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
34
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5100
That's correct. The device does not share its configuration information with MyDrive Connect. Plan those routes on the device with and without the "no toll" configuration and you will get two different routes.
For what it's worth, it IS possible to create a "No Route Possible" result if there are no possible ways of getting somewhere without paying a toll, but you've restricted tolls!

We've asked TomTom to add the same kind of routing restrictions to the MyDrive Connect page as exist on the devices themselves, but so far, no action there.

We do not have toll roads in Northern Ireland. I have no real objections to paying tolls, but rarely drive in Southern Ireland so electronic payment tag accounts would be a little unpractical. Thanks for your help. for now I now know (if possible) how to avoid long coin pay queues during my intended driving tour this summer.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,928
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
The device should now distinguish between road tolls and bride/tunnel tolls, at least it does on my North America map.

As an exercise, do not disable toll roads in the settings menu and plan the route to the UK again.
(I believe going via Terminal Rd S is still the fastest to get to anywhere in Wales or Southern England.)
As soon as it finishes the route calculation it will briefly show "Includes Toll Roads X". If the X is not tapped within a too short period, the toll road will have been programmed. All is not lost as when scrolling up the route bar towards destination, the Toll Road icon will be shown at the right. If tapped, it will display where that is and a menu button will still allow to select Avoid, after which the route is recalculate without road tolls.
 
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
34
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5100
Thanks Arno. Will have to try and remember your excellent advice.
Wonder if the TomTom will eventually advise of Border Controls between NI and ROI now we have BREXIT? :confused:
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,133
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
Funny, I was thinking more about the Scotland/England border in the event that Scotland votes again, but as I re-think that, the NI/ROI border is actually substantially longer. I keep forgetting how much it curves.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top