Speed Camera Updates ?

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Monty205, Apr 22, 2017.

  1. Monty205

    Monty205

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 Camper and Go 730
    A query for those of you who may be more up to speed with the Go Live 1005 than I am.

    The Speed Camera Updates ?

    I only require the UK, France and Spain data, so I uninstalled all the others, and a long drawn out process it was too.

    However, when the regular batch of updates is offered, the ‘Tick-Box’ against Speed camera Updates is not ticked.

    Does this mean that there are no updates for the speed cameras, or that only those country’s that remain installed will be updated, or non of the above o_O?

    So, I accept all the other updates and run the update process, but, on completion, I have no way of knowing if the UK, France and Spain speed camera data has been updated ?

    Now, if I put a tick in the Speed Camera Tick-Box, and run the update process then all the cameras that I previously laboriously uninstalled, re-install themselves.

    I appreciate that this is not really any sort of big deal, but once again it illustrates how poorly ‘thought out’ the software used by this expensive gizmo really is.

    Obviously, I can just leave the countries that I no longer need installed and ignore them, as long as the ones I do need are updated, but it would be nice to know what’s going on under the hood, so to speak.
     
    Monty205, Apr 22, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Monty205

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When you click on the 'speed cameras'. does it not then list all the countries available and then you can check only the desired ones? Or, perhaps, a link for 'details' to do the same thing?
     
    dhn, Apr 22, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Monty205

    Monty205

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 Camper and Go 730
    OK, ....... next time that the speed camera updates are offered I will check that out, but first I will have to laboriously uninstall all the options that I do not need, one more time.

    On thinking a little further on the issue, surely, if a particular country is uninstalled, this TomTom software is clever enough to realise that it need not download updates for those countries, ........................... then again maybe not, eh ?
     
    Monty205, Apr 22, 2017
    #3
  4. Monty205

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Why, is your device memory running out of space?
     
    Arno, Apr 22, 2017
    #4
  5. Monty205

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You'll be offered everything that you have due you each time updates become available. Just how it works.

    Am curious, like Arno, to know why you're bothering. Not a ton of data even if you pick up the whole lot rather than working with bits and pieces. Memory low?
     
    canderson, Apr 22, 2017
    #5
  6. Monty205

    Monty205

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 Camper and Go 730
    No problem with memory capacity chaps, I just wondered why the offer to uninstall certain speed cameras is there at all ?

    Being a curious beggar I just decided to see what happened if I uninstalled the ones I did not need,

    Now I know. They all reinstall themselves, as it is not possible to selectively update them.

    So, ............... if somebody does have a memory capacity issue, and uninstalls some of the cameras, when they get a camera update, their memory capacity is compromised,................ this soft ware is not very clever is it, .............. or am I missing something ?
     
    Monty205, Apr 24, 2017
    #6
  7. Monty205

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Monty, I edited out the link you provided in your address. If you wish to advertise or promote here, you need to contact the administrator.
     
    dhn, Apr 24, 2017
    #7
  8. Monty205

    Monty205

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go Live 1005 Camper and Go 730
    No problem, it was just a link to my YouTube Channel, on which I upload my own 'creative' musical offerings, most of which are my own versions of old 50s and 60s stuff, ................ some even older, although there are a couple of my own compositions, so nobody is going to miss much !

    This activity takes my mind off the amount of money it is taking to keep my Ducato based motorhome on the road.

    :)
     
    Monty205, Apr 27, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.