Safety Cameras not showing speed on 950

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by stonty, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. stonty

    stonty

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to trouble you guys but I'd appreciate any ideas

    My 3 days old TT 950 doesn't show or warn of established / known speed cameras whilst driving here in the UK, my old 910 used to show them without a problem

    I've been on to TT & they talked me through the correct warning settings & sounds as if I were an 8 yr old, reset & restored the device 3 times (under guidance from TT) & also ran a downloaded 'clear flash' app.

    They even had me use another pc to update from TT Home but still nothing.

    Currently waiting for a call back to talk me through a post back-up format of the device. :confused:

    If that fails the guy says I'll have to send it in for repair,

    Many thanks in advance

    Chris
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2010
    stonty, Dec 21, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. stonty

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF.

    One of our supermods, Mikealder, is UK based and should pop into this thread within the next 24 hours.

    I do know that the TT supplied safety camera database is woefully inadequate in accuracy. Many feel a 3rd party subscription to a reliable, flexible database is desired.

    And many subscribe to such a database at pocketgpsworld.com. For further information, see here:
    Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras
     
    dhn, Dec 21, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. stonty

    stonty

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your welcome & prompt response dhn.
     
    stonty, Dec 21, 2010
    #3
  4. stonty

    427ci

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there.

    I too am having this same issue. Shame there is no reply to the the thread.
     
    427ci, Feb 11, 2011
    #4
  5. stonty

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Go to Live Services/ Safety Cameras and make sure the alerts supplied with the device are actually enabled.

    If you want a decent speed camera database that you can rely upon for accurace have a look at PocketGPSWorld.com - Mike
     
    mikealder, Feb 12, 2011
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.