Rider Clock Stuck at 12:00

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by eglideic, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. eglideic

    eglideic

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Iowa
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 55M, Rider 4GD00
    I got my TomTom Rider 4GD00 new a number of years ago and it's worked just fine until now. It has one problem. The time is pretty much stuck at 12:00. I've repeatedly tried resetting it and it might take for a very short instant, but just goes right back to 12:00. It never looses power or anything, and I've hooked to the computer and updated it a couple times but nothing helps.
    Anybody seen this happen before or know what's going on? THANKS.
     
    eglideic, Jul 8, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. eglideic

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Jul 8, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. eglideic

    eglideic

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SE Iowa
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 55M, Rider 4GD00
    I am not tech savvy and don't know what a root is. Here is the machine I own. I'll connect it to the computer and update it again.
    Here is a picture of the serial numbers.
    If I update it again today and it still doesn't fix it, then what do I do?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
    eglideic, Jul 8, 2019
    #3
  4. eglideic

    molerat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One V3 4N01.000 Y4
    TomTom have not yet provided a fix for this problem, they are supposed to be working on it but don't hold your breath. There is a 3rd party fix available on the net. You need the K4 fix (at your own risk of course) but is easily removable if it does not work - works on my One V3. This only fixes the clock, not any sat lock problems you may have that are connected to WNRO.
    http://rima-lock.com/tomtom-urban-rider-K3-WNRO-fix.htm
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
    molerat, Jul 8, 2019
    #4
  5. eglideic

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yup, serial number starts with K4, so that's one of the 4GB Riders from back in 2013. Sometimes they call it a "Rider 5'. It does use TomTom Home for updates (later models use something else).

    As noted by molerat, they're still working on the update for this one... not sure why it's taking them so long. Be careful about 3rd party sites offering firmware for your device. That said, I've looked at the file for the K4, and it's an interesting approach to resolving the date issue. It's tweaking the post-processing of the NMEA data with a script that runs every time the device is booted. Next best thing to having the firmware itself modified, I guess.
     
    canderson, Jul 8, 2019
    #5
  6. eglideic

    thanks4thefish42

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    K4 Rider
    Will Rider owners be notified by email when there (if ever) is a fix. My Rider works well just the clock is stuck at 12:00 and time to arrival is not working. Makes me do some math in my head with Time/Speed/Distance so not really mad enough to trash Tomtom.
     
    thanks4thefish42, Jul 30, 2019
    #6
  7. eglideic

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No email but ...
    Good news ... connect your device again. 9.501 for Rider K4 has been released as of 17 July.
     
    canderson, Jul 30, 2019
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.