New XL Live, long delay acquiring gps signal..HELP!

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by paradox, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. paradox

    paradox

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, first post :)

    My new XL IQ Live (UK) arrived yesterday and I used it straight away on a journey (before updating anything) and it acquired a good GPS signal within seconds and I was on my way. Great.

    Got it home, backed it up in explorer, and updated using the latest version of tomtom home. Again no problems, I updated everything available (not maps), and then took a backup using tomtom home after the changes.

    I went to use the device again this morning, but it wouldn't get a GPS signal at all, I drove all the way to work with no signal (although it did update the HD traffic just fine), then I turned it off a few times in the car-park, and eventually I got a signal.

    What's going on guys? :confused:
     
    paradox, Apr 1, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. paradox

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,000
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF.

    Hope you made a backup (Explorer) of your unit's contents when you first took it out of the box.

    To get a gps signal on the unit, it's best to make sure the unit is in an open area and in a stationary position. It's not unusual to perhaps take a couple of minutes to grab the signal.

    Also, perhaps one of the updated files you downloaded was a gpsquickfix file with some wonky data. That would slow down signal acquisition.
     
    dhn, Apr 1, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. paradox

    paradox

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there, thanks for the reply.

    Yes I have an explorer backup just in case. I actually just went into the Live menu option and selected QuickGPSFix from there, it did an update and connected the GPS immediately. I think the TomTom Home GPSFix update is for the wrong region or is corrupt, but the Live services one is correct.

    Could someone please confirm how often the live services Quick GPSFix updates, and is this an automatic process (without connecting to TT Home)

    Thanks.
     
    paradox, Apr 1, 2010
    #3
  4. paradox

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Can't speak to the "Live" service, but it should be comparable to what you get with the hardwired connection. The files are good for about a week, and have internal expiry dates so that your unit knows whether it's time for a new one (except rarely, when that breaks). You'll need to either manually invoke the option from the menu item on your unit, or from Home when it advises an update is available. Again, once a week seems to be the rule on the useful longevity of the data, so a weekly connection is warranted.
     
    canderson, Apr 1, 2010
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.