Need a new Totom Help


Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
20
Hi .... i have a tomtom Go 710 it a bit old now and i dont seem to be able to up
date it... it has an sd card...
i think it maybe time to buy a new one... can anyone recomed a good one
Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
20
No... i dont do a lot of travelling... i belong to a dog walking group
And we go on lots of walk all over the uk, so i need to be able to fine
The parks, i only need it to find my way to the park, not for the walk
I also use it to go on holiday in the uk, i don’t need it for work..
Nice long batter life would be good... the tomtom 710 was fab
It just a bit old now and i can’t update the maps
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
20
i have done that... but when i went to Yorkshire from Essex... which is about a 5 hour journey there were lots of roundabout missing, been replaced with a flyover or new road lay out.
so i figured that my tomtom could not update as it has a sc card ?????
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Having a sd card should make no difference. Everything goes on the card with your model as I understand it, application, maps, etc.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
What version is your map? The latest is 890 and 895 is due in about 5 weeks or so.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Tap the satellite bars in the bottom right of the status bar. The next screen shows the version number of the APPLICATION installed. Now, tap the version number and the following screen shows the map installed and its version.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Well, you can see by the 2nd link I provided in my previous post that the 650 map is now SIX years old.

Yep, you may want to upgrade .. small wonder the 'current' map on your device no longer routes you very well.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
20
OMG 6 years old.... so do i have to pay for an upgrade or are there free downloads?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
20
ok thank you for all your help.... now i know what to do
just need to think about the cost do i get a new unit or get the map update

Thank you :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,146
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
I understand .......... you are welcome.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top