map updating problems

have a new XL350m and just went to download updated maps- it downloads to the PC, but when installing to the tomtom it says :
An Error Has Occurred. The file is invalid (archive file): C:\Users\my name\Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\Complete\map\U SA_Canada_Mexico\USA_Canada_and_Mexico_P.zip

I have windows 7, i did the disk check and it comes up no problems found.

Any ideas or insight into this, anyone? I'm very new to all of this - thanks so much!!

more problems

Ack, 2 things:
1 --- before I heard back, I called support and they had me delete all the existing files on the unit as well as the map updates - then reinstall with a connected (not wireless) computer with the same result. They said the download was corrupted. Now though, I have an empty $120 piece of plastic without even the outdated maps I started with. WHAT NOW??

2 -- In your advice, the instructions say:
Make a complete Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents. Ensure hidden files/folders are showing.

How exactly do I make an Explorer backup?

Thanks again!!!

What do you mean 'where'?

Most updating of maps, applications, voices, etc. is done when you connect your unit to Home.

I am having the same issues. I bought a xl340tm yesterday and while updating the maps it bricked it. So I returned it for another one. And wala will not update, even though there is one available. I have followed all the steps on backing up the gps. I am regreting leaving garmin at this point. I do have two other xxl540tm I bought last week and they work just fine.

I am having the exact same issue with updating maps. I have a XXL 550T and everything else updated fine except for maps. Same error as mentioned above. Maybe Tom Tom has a problem with the update that is out there. Any other ideas?

Call support at 866-486-6866 and have them (try to) explain what the delay is......