Possible to see map changes before updating


Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
2
TomTom Model(s)
One IQ Routes
Hi,

I guess this is a common question...

I have had a "One IQ Routes edition" since 2009. It has "western and central Europe" v825 maps and is long over due for an update.

Before I buy a map update is it possible to find out what changes have been made?

I often drive the same routes through France and there have certainly been many changes to the roads since 2009.
TomTom frequently shows me driving through the middle of a field!
Obviously I would feel somewhat disappointed/defrauded if I buy an update and many of the road changes are still missing. I understand there's always some delay between an actual road change and it getting into the TT map update.
So is there somewhere on the TT web site (for example) that will show me what I will get? Their Route Planner tool (http://routes.tomtom.com/#/map) certainly has some of the missing roads although I suspect it doesn't use the same maps that are bought as part of an upgrade.
Thanks
Pete
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
The map in the link you provided is often one version behind. So, if changes are there, they'll be on the most recent map as well. Another place to try is www.tomtom.com/mapshare/tools

Same thing applies.

Best thing is to post here a specific location you are concerned about and if a member here has the newest map, they can check if the change is on the map. Another forum where you can post your questions about the map changes is tomtom's own discussion forum. http://discussions.tomtom.com/t5/TomTom-Discussions/ct-p/en_en Many members there are European with the latest map.

Post in the Map Quality section there.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
2
TomTom Model(s)
One IQ Routes
Thanks to all. The new roads that aren't in my TT are on the Route Planner. I guess I'll sign up for an update.
A few problems using the Route Planner though. The map image doesn't refresh completely when zooming or scrolling. Get bits of the expected area plus bits from half a continent away. Guess it's either a dodgy application of some setting in my browser (IE 10).

Thanks again.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Guess it's either a dodgy application of some setting in my browser (IE 10).
There were others on and off with MSIE problems in the 2nd to largest view.

Can you try another browser (Firefox), even if only for testing.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top