Just got a tomtom! Wondering if tomplayer works with 8.010?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by MistreatedTJ, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. MistreatedTJ

    MistreatedTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a tomtom 720 and I was wondering if I should update to Navcore 8? I am wanting to use tomplayer, and possibly tyre. Do these apps work with 8.010? I really don't see on their websites where they mention it. Thanks!
     
    MistreatedTJ, Sep 3, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MistreatedTJ

    Bobinsc

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Goose Creek, SC
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Tyre will become part of your Home software when you install it and yes it will work just fine with the 8.0 firmware. I use it all the time with mine.

    TomPlayer should work with the 720 and 8.0 too but I don't use it and can't guarantee it. I have seen that others are using third party players though.

    http://www.tomplayer.net/
    Here is the website. You should be able to find out for sure about the 720 there.

    You may need to add an SDHC card (4 gb is a good one) to have room for your add-on programs and additional files.
    I have everything working on my SD card now and that gave me plenty of room on it and internal memory to add things.

    Good Luck
    Bob
     
    Bobinsc, Sep 3, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MistreatedTJ

    MistreatedTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!! I have an SD card on the way, so as soon as that arrives I should be ready to start installing apps. The other app I need is Offroad, but I am not sure if it runs with 8.010 either. I can't believe how difficult it is to get a simple breadcrumb trail on an auto gps, but I have to have it for my Jeep.. Unfortunate really.
     
    MistreatedTJ, Sep 3, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.