just bought a second hand tomtom rider 1st edition

hi there

just bought a second hand tomtom rider 1st edition.

it come with just tomtom rider and chager.
i connected it to my pc and tomtom home and got update but i dont have maps yet, all it says on my tomtom when i switch it on is NO MAPS FOUND! in the middle of the screen, is that what it should be like without any map software installed? should it have any icons at all? or do you only get all the icons when you install the maps?

and is it best to pay and download the maps from tomtom home or buy a tomtom sd card with maps?

many thanks

regards

can any1 let me know as im new to all this tomtom stuff.

would really like to know if you have any icons if you have no maps installed? as i connected my tomtom rider to my pc and runned tomtom home and it updated it with bits and bobs but i have to buy the maps but i wasnt going to incase it isn't working properly.

any help?

It is possible that the map is indeed on the unit, but HOME isnt finding it. Using explorer, open the drive where you have your Rider plugged in. See if there is a map. I assume the card is in the SD slot, and that the TomTom logo is on the card. The Rider does not have an internal memory, you must have a card.

If so, ensure you have the latest application version for the Rider2 (cant speak for the Rider1) is 7.901as HOME may no longer recognize whatever version might be on your unit.

If you do not see a map using explorer, you will have to purchase a map, which again will require the latest application.

Beyond that, I dont know what else you can do.

Cheers!

Last edited:
It is possible that the map is indeed on the unit, but HOME isnt finding it. Using explorer, open the drive where you have your Rider plugged in. See if there is a map. I assume the card is in the SD slot, and that the TomTom logo is on the card. The Rider does not have an internal memory, you must have a card.