how do i make POI's?

Discussion in 'POI Alerts' started by scottd1975, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. scottd1975

    scottd1975

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to help and make POI's but i dont know the programs to use or how to find all the coordinates for a certain buisness or place.
     
    scottd1975, Dec 22, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. scottd1975

    joey301

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Use Googld

    It is pretty easy to find a POI in Google maps and then transfer it.
    j
     
    joey301, Dec 23, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. scottd1975

    scottd1975

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok lets say i look up target stores in socal how do i get all the hits from the map to a poi file?
     
    scottd1975, Dec 23, 2007
    #3
  4. scottd1975

    RVA

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 1535TM
    Read Creating POI Groups - USA - TT510

    Scott, there is an active thread with the title "Creating POI Groups - USA - TT510". Consider reading all the posts in that thread then posting your questions that are no yet answered.

    It seems this might help with your interests.


    RVA
     
    RVA, Dec 23, 2007
    #4
  5. scottd1975

    ChillyCat

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    N.E.Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    [​IMG]

    NEW!
    NEW!

    Tyre can work with POI files too, now!

    Open, create and edit your own POI files...
    Install POI files from Internet and keep them updated!
    Publish your own POI files and share them with other people


    HERE: http://www.janboersma.nl/gett/index.php
     
    ChillyCat, Dec 23, 2007
    #5
    1 person likes this.
  6. scottd1975

    scottd1975

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you so much it just seems like i cant do a one stop shop for all of a certain store in a city or state ill give this a try though thanks guys so much.
     
    scottd1975, Dec 23, 2007
    #6
  7. scottd1975

    joey301

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    use POIEdit

    I finally got up the nerve to try POI Edit. It is really pretty easy to use. There seem to be lots of POIs on the Web if you look for them, then convert them using POI Edit. You can even remove coordinates that you don't want, for instance in the list for Starbucks, I took out the ones in Hawaii. Converting them is as simple as 'save as'

    joey
     
    joey301, Dec 25, 2007
    #7
  8. scottd1975

    duallydave

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    i agree, trye is very cool,and easy to use,a few timhorton pois were a bit off and i used tyre and its all fixed
     
    duallydave, Dec 27, 2007
    #8
  9. scottd1975

    ChrisChris

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    ChrisChris, Jan 9, 2008
    #9
  10. scottd1975

    joey301

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Got Tyre

    I loaded this program....my brain is too tired to tackle it, especially as to how can interact with my TT.

    joey
     
    joey301, Jan 10, 2008
    #10
  11. scottd1975

    baggss

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Margaritaville
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    I've been using this site to make my POI that I have contributed here on the forums:

    http://www.poifriend.com/

    You can make the POI lists, add icons etc. The site will add the positional data for the POIs using Google Maps. Once the POIs are created, they can be downloaded in multiple formats for different devices, not just the TT. Pretty easy to use, and you can upload POIs from existing ov2 or csv files to make larger combine lists.
     
    baggss, Jan 12, 2008
    #11
    1 person likes this.
  12. scottd1975

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,073
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thanks for the link, baggss. Joined and found (and dl) a poi I've been searching out for quite a while.
     
    dhn, Jan 13, 2008
    #12
  13. scottd1975

    baggss

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Margaritaville
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    No problem.

    There is a Java App you can download here: http://www.poi2go.com/mypoi/ that will allow you to make your own POIs based on search criteria. It should run on any system that supports the recent releases of Java Virtual Machines. I take the OV2 file I get from that and upload it to that site so I can check the locations and remove dupes. The I add the icon and download the .zip file and post it here in the forums.
     
    baggss, Jan 13, 2008
    #13
  14. scottd1975

    polbon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, This version of the application works for the USA, but the link to the Canadian version doesn't work. Does anyone know how to make the modification to make poi2go work in Canada. Thanks
     
    polbon, Apr 5, 2008
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.