Home position wrong?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Rick F., Dec 18, 2007.

  1. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    When I first setup my new TomTom ONE 3rd edition, I did it from my den while at my computer. This seemed normal to me as I was installing new maps with updates.

    However, because of this, when I'm coming home and pull into my driveway, it always says I'm 45 yds away from home or destination (my den is about 40 yds back I guess). It's not a big deal, but I've been impressed with how accurate the TomTom is in getting to my various destinations... as I'm pulling in someone's driveway, it says, "You've arrived at your destination".

    I guess what I'd like to know, do I need to correct my home Lat/Lon? If so, how do I do this? I've searched the pdf manual and online but can't find the answer.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Rick F., Dec 18, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rick F.

    zerimar

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Gallen, Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    You could either change the Lat/Long coordinates or park your car in front of your garage and use My location.
     
    zerimar, Dec 18, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rick F.

    ted_salad

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you have this problem...

    Hi Rick, do you have this problem; my home is on the south-bound side of a north-south road. It has a physical barrier that divides the N/S lanes. When I plan a route using "navigate to" using my home as the starting point, or us "prepare route" using my home as a starting point, it aways charts a route showing I have to start on the other side of the road, the north bound side. Which I cannot do since there is a barrier in the middle of the road.

    Also, in the 3D and 2D view it shows my home location on the north-bound side of the road, which is incorrect. When I do a "find" for my address it shows it correctly as on the south-bound side. When I do the route planning I have 8 satellites showing navigation lock.

    The only way I can get my home location to show correctly as being on the south-bound side of the road is switching it to "walking route".

    I can't even begin to figure out what keywords to search on for this problem so I've posted it on it's own thread.
     
    ted_salad, Dec 19, 2007
    #3
  4. Rick F.

    wup

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I use current location it says not available and if I use the long/lat numbers it defauls to a road intersection approx 70 yards away. When I put the actual address in it shows it to be 1.2 mi away. Don't believeeTT like saving current location when not on a road. Imy case it is a condo parking lot.
     
    wup, Dec 19, 2007
    #4
  5. Rick F.

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    Welcome to the world of tomtom. If you're in a parking lot and mark that spot as a favorite, you cannot navigate back to it as there is no road. If you have a bit long driveway and mark your home as home, you cannot navigate back there. You have to mark the street in front of your home.

    as for actual addresses and POI's I find at least 75 percent of them are not where the unit says they are. sometimes close and sometimes a long way off, but rarely right on.
     
    flyer1024, Dec 19, 2007
    #5
  6. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Thanks guys.

    No, I'm on a 2-lane road.

    I guess it's not that big of a deal. When I tap on 'what's my location', it shows the same coordinates from my den as it does from my driveway.

    I did change my 'Home' location to an entered address... rather than pressing current location like I think I did from my den when I first set it up. I'll see it that makes any difference.

    Gotta tell ya, I'm really liking my new toy. It works great!

    Thanks again.
     
    Rick F., Dec 19, 2007
    #6
  7. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Well, that didn't make any difference. But I've now fooled my TT by entering an address 2 doors down from me and made it my 'Home' position. Now it says, "You have arrived your destination" when I pull into my driveway. But to be honest, if I need this much help in getting home, I probably shouldn't be driving. :eek:
     
    Rick F., Dec 27, 2007
    #7
  8. Rick F.

    Krazy Jeff

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    One LE
    I have also run into some issues like mentioned above. But what I do is use my common sense and just "disobey" TT's instructions, and it will quickly analyze another route as soon as it notices that I am not doing exactly what it instructed me to do. I use One LE by the way.

    Like today, I went to my local KFC. Then I was gonna go stop by a client before heading back home. When I gave it instructions to take me to my client, it told me to make a left on KFC drive thru exit, but that is impossible, since recently they put a cement division on that street, so it would be impossible for me to make a left. So I went right, and TT quickly analyzed a different route for me.
     
    Krazy Jeff, Dec 27, 2007
    #8
  9. Rick F.

    Genius of Love

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Southeastern PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One LE
    LOL! For me, it seems to say "You have arrived your destination" when I pass the mail box cluster for our townhouses, which is 3 doors from my house. No big deal though.

    It also thinks my in-laws live two doors further down the street than they actually do.

    The TT1 seems to be more accurate for a street address entered to navigate to a business, but that could just be because they have larger parking lots so it isn't as noticeable if it's "off a little bit".
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2007
    Genius of Love, Dec 27, 2007
    #9
  10. Rick F.

    gogs

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Setting Home

    It probably works better by using you address. I have that and it's smart enough to know what side of the street i live.
     
    gogs, Dec 27, 2007
    #10
  11. Rick F.

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    Well, that's what I tried, but I guess my TT isn't that smart :rolleyes: . With my address entered as 'home', when I pull into my driveway, it says I'm still 45 yds away. That's why I tried entering my neighbor's addy... then my neighbor's addy 2 doors up to get it more accurate. Not sure, but I think this error may be because I live on a circle and on my side of the St. (the outside of the Cir.) the numbers are 8 apart. Across the St. (inside Cir.) they're 14 apart. Maybe TT divides the house numbers (lots?) evenly and that's causing the error.

    Like I said, not a big deal, just an observation.
     
    Rick F., Dec 27, 2007
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.