Help please Renault grand scenic

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Craig Bartley, May 8, 2018.

  1. Craig Bartley

    Craig Bartley

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a issue with Tom tom Renault grand scenic 2010 i factory reset it but after it said system not configured would a new addition card fix this or thought my other option would be too just get another one second hand that works but would this work any help would be very grateful thanks there pretty cheap too replace but I notice there with the clocks so not sure if I could just replace sat nav or would it say same thing thanks craig
     
    Craig Bartley, May 8, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Craig Bartley

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,642
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try support:


    [​IMG] United Kingdom
    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    dhn, May 9, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.