hands free external car speaker lineout aux in?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by waylandchin, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. waylandchin

    waylandchin

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking about buying a 720 or 920, but will only do so if I can get my my phone calls on my car speakers with the line out feature, can somebody confirm this?
     
    waylandchin, Nov 14, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. waylandchin

    afeudale

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope, it only works through the tomtom
     
    afeudale, Nov 15, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. waylandchin

    LaRazaUnida

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone found a mod or attempted a mod to fix this issue? Also what about getting the tomtom to come in over the speakers however, not needing to use the fm transmitter or switch it over to aux on the head unit?

    IE: Plugging in an audio over ride of some sort...
     
    LaRazaUnida, Jan 4, 2008
    #3
  4. waylandchin

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,005
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Just talked to tech support about this a few days ago, and they acknowlege that not having FM out or line out for the hands-free is a shortcoming. They expect to include this in a future release. Meanwhile, my prior post on this explains what technological issues may have delayed its inclusion. It's around here somewhere as this topic was just covered in the last week.
     
    canderson, Jan 4, 2008
    #4
  5. waylandchin

    SiAddicted

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Can
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720
    Bringing this back from the dead...
    Any updates on the issue of using the aux line out for hands free calling? Any firmware fixes maybe? I would really like to get this working.
     
    SiAddicted, Jun 17, 2009
    #5
  6. waylandchin

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Its not possible using the TomTom, in the end I bought a car handsfree kit that does give me sound from the phone through the car speakers and also alows a Bluetooth audio connection from the TomTom through the car speakers.
    Shame the TomTom cannot handle handsfree via the sound set up I want, in the end I gave up waiting and got a more satisfactory solution - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jun 17, 2009
    #6
  7. waylandchin

    SiAddicted

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Can
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720
    That sounds very interesting, I would like to hear more about your new setup. Maybe its a potential solution for now, until the good people at tomtom can update our software!
     
    SiAddicted, Jun 17, 2009
    #7
  8. waylandchin

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    I put some small details in This Thread which should explain about the car kit - best in car gadget I have purchased for quite a while, only problem is these are only available for sale in the UK, although you should be able to find one on E-Bay that the seller will post across the pond - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jun 17, 2009
    #8
  9. waylandchin

    konveansu

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Tom Tom Go 720
    Connection to phone and ipod

    SO I've seen a few posts about not being able to hear phone conversations over the fm transmitter on the car stereo, and even though its unfortunate I could live with it. My problem is that while I'm listening to my Ipod and the directions on the car stereo and someone happens to call me I can answer, hear the telephone conversation over the tom tom, but then when the conversation is over I can't get the ipod connection to work again. Looking at the Tom Tom screen the music is supposedly playing but there is no sound coming out of the car stereo. I've checked that the fm transmitter option is still on and that the Ipod is still playing but the only way for me to get it to play over the car stereo is to turn off the Tom Tom (720) and restart everything. Is there something really obvious I'm not doing? Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    P.S. i've also just updated the firmware so I doubt there was a fix in the last 2 weeks, but I could be wrong.

    Thanks.
     
    konveansu, Jun 25, 2009
    #9
  10. waylandchin

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Do you use the PLUS data services?

    I found that the music jukebox can crash when you hit a data dead zone. 2G networks cut out the data whenever you make a call, so it acts like a dead zone that crashes the jukebox.

    What phone company are you on? I found a different data configuration for T-mobile USA that doesn't seem to crash the jukebox as often.
     
    mvl, Jun 26, 2009
    #10
  11. waylandchin

    SiAddicted

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Can
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720
    I guess I'm just being optimistic that someone will discover a way to resolve this "phone audio through line out" problem. I really don't want to have to shell out for an additional system either (ie: the "IO play" solution). So any rumors or updates floating around out there? I and I'm sure a few others out there would be curious to know.
     
    SiAddicted, Jul 4, 2009
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.