got an XL2 for xmas, but has old maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by mccririck, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    It have map version 845.2645 which I'm pretty sure is nearly a year old. Surely a new device should get the latest maps from TomTom?
     
    mccririck, Dec 27, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mccririck

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,054
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You can get the latest within 30 days of first use by using Latest Map Guarantee when you connect your unit to Home.
     
    dhn, Dec 27, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    I cant find the Latest Map Guarantee, in Home I go to add maps and it wants to charge me.
     
    mccririck, Dec 27, 2010
    #3
  4. mccririck

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    In Home_2 click "Tools" from the menu options across the top of the application, LMG will then appear as one of the options you can select - Mike
     
    mikealder, Dec 27, 2010
    #4
  5. mccririck

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Yes, open HOME on your puter, make sure you update it to the latest version, plug in your device and register it. Go the the LMG (not purchase a map) and you should get the latest map version for your device. In the event it tells you that you have the latest map, you will have to call TT support and provide proof of purchase and then you will recieve the new map (happens occassionly)

    Once you are done, make sure you make a copy of your devices contents using Explorer rather than the HOME program.

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
    rcacs, Dec 27, 2010
    #5
  6. mccririck

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,984
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Better yet, make that copy BEFORE you do the map update, and again after. If anything goes badly during the update, it will be far easier for us to put Humpty together again with that backup in hand.

    Instructions here -> https://www.tomtomforums.com/genera...4-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html
     
    canderson, Dec 28, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.