go520 traffic checker mydrive app

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by the_rubicon, Oct 14, 2019.

  1. the_rubicon

    the_rubicon

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go720 go520
    I work from home as a plumber. my office is in my house by obviously my jobs are at several different places each day.

    mydrive app refuses to tell me anything about traffic unless I configure my home and work addresses first. I don't have a work address. what am I supposed to do?
     
    the_rubicon, Oct 14, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. the_rubicon

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,888
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Use your home address. It's assuring that the radius picked up for traffic is sufficient for any possible home/work scenario.
     
    canderson, Oct 15, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. the_rubicon

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I don't remember if one can see traffic without Home/Work but, as canderson said put in something, an intersection away from where you live and you should see traffic on the 'Search for addresses' screen. You could also use MyDrive web and select to show traffic in Settings but, first of all, switch on your 520 and if you are within WiFi range will show all traffic for up to a couple of hundred miles out if you scale the screen.
     
    Arno, Oct 16, 2019
    #3
  4. the_rubicon

    the_rubicon

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go720 go520
    Thanks guys I'll fudge it by adding the middle of town as my work address. I've got to say im puzzled by many aspects of the tomtom software design : /

    And youre quite right Arno, the system absolutely refuses to offer traffic advice without having both home and work addresses configured.
     
    the_rubicon, Oct 16, 2019
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.