Go Live 1535 sim card wiped put by update again.

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Thomas Crevenna, May 31, 2015.

  1. Thomas Crevenna

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Won't let you try to log in? Still sounds like carrier rejecting service.
     
    canderson, Jun 3, 2015
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. Thomas Crevenna

    Thomas Crevenna

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535m
    Please see the above post the sim card has no information it's blank according to unit.
     
    Thomas Crevenna, Jun 3, 2015
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. Thomas Crevenna

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    SIMs get auto-disabled if there is a bad account login, service expiration, or sometimes with software corruption. No one can renew the sim except for Tomtom. Tomtom has a SIM renewal system, but it is rarely used, and with these devices no longer manufactured after 2012, it is probable that their support agents are no longer trained on how to use the renewal system.

    I have also followed up with some Tomtom contacts to see if they are able to perform a SIM renewal.
     
    mvl, Jun 3, 2015
    #23
  4. Thomas Crevenna

    Thomas Crevenna

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535m
    mvl. thank you for your help. I know I'm not crazy and I know this isn't rocket science. In the US they had to be able to renew the info when reactivating expired cards.I'm not worried about the subscription cost as long as the carrier is still working their 2G network. It is sad that stand alone GPS/Traffic units are going away. I have no interest in having a smart phone again, I've learned to really hate the culture of zombies being glued to the things. Paying $130.00 a month didn't help the cause any either. (I know they a cheaper now).
    I'm not sure, don't really understand having a GPS that has to be tied to a smart phone that already can have a GPS/Live/traffic app in it, seems really redundant. I liked the idea of a stand alone back when they still had radio and MP3 players + the GPS functions. But I'm a dinosaur and revel in the fact I use over the air TV and don't pay a dime for it. I prefer a simpler less connected (chained) life, I have my comps at work and home, I just want my traffic, got stuck in it last night and cursing the whole 1.25 hour trip instead of the usual 25 min.
     
    Thomas Crevenna, Jun 3, 2015
    #24
  5. Thomas Crevenna

    Jake765

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535M
    Ok in support of Thomas I feel compelled to tell my story. I have been working 2 1535 live units the past 3 days. I updated to new 9.5 maps and BAM! same problem. All my SIM Card info is blank on both units.
     
    Jake765, Jul 11, 2015
    #25
  6. Thomas Crevenna

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You'll need to call Customer Service: 866-486-6866
     
    dhn, Jul 12, 2015
    #26
  7. Thomas Crevenna

    Baz909

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO6100
    Afraid I can't help except to reinforce the fact that an update seems to have killed my sim as well? Tomtom 6100 worked perfectly for three years. Last big update to v.10.40 resulted in lost GPRS functionality. Tried all usual resets including factory several times, nothing! This means no traffic or cloud updates. All supposedly paid for. Phoned for help, twice. Second time told their senior engineers decided my sim is faulty and would I like to purchase a new unit? So thought I'd ask on here if this story feels similar to many others? Are we being played for mugs? No way just an update would cause this. My suspicious mind is in overdrive I'm afraid.
     
    Baz909, Dec 11, 2019
    #27
  8. Thomas Crevenna

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No, this is a pretty uncommon event. And no, the MAP update for your 6100 shouldn't have any reason to fiddle the SIM card at all, much less corrupt it. If an issue with 1040 maps was pandemic, we'd have heard about it here and on the corporate board.

    As an intermediate step, if you have a phone data plan that has a decent sized (or no) cap, there's a phone app from TomTom that will allow access to traffic via your phone from the TT server. Your 6100 should be able to access traffic that way, just like a 610.
     
    canderson, Dec 11, 2019
    #28
  9. Thomas Crevenna

    sm67

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 5000
    Just reading through this thread , I have just had the same thing happen to me.
    go 5000 , updated and a few days later noticed I have no live services.
    GPRS disconnected. Live services show as activated.
    In the About section it shows gprs status. Underneath it says disconnected
    Then it shows a set of numbers. this varies between 2 different sets
    (23430,0,0,0,10,0) or ((null),0,0,0,10,1)
    Spoke to customer service and they think the sim card is faulty. the unit is 3 yrs and 1 month old so they want a minimum £85 or $110 to replace the sim card.
    Its been a great sat nav , but, I think I paid £229 or $300 for this even though I could use google maps on my phone for free. I paid that really just for the live traffic. So to get 3 years live traffic for that cost I don't think I will be replacing it.
    Life time traffic , even by Tom tom standards should be more than 3 years.
    Makes me wonder if more companies do the Apple thing of harming a product during updates to ensure repeat sales.
    This all happened after an update to my tom tom.
    For anyone with a unit out of the repair warranty I would think twice about downloading any updates that are not critical for its use.
     
    sm67, Mar 5, 2020
    #29
  10. Thomas Crevenna

    Baz909

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO6100
    Posted elsewhere about my instant success, everything back as new and working perfectly. Dismantled my unit, fairly easy I thought. Carefully removed SIM and cleaned it's contacts. This worked instantly for the cloud and traffic updates.
     
    Baz909, Mar 6, 2020
    #30
    Arno likes this.
  11. Thomas Crevenna

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Congratulations for being so proactive and telling others about how you solved the problem.
     
    Arno, Mar 6, 2020
    #31
  12. Thomas Crevenna

    sm67

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    go 5000
    Baz what exactly did you do to clean the contacts .
     
    sm67, Mar 6, 2020
    #32
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.