GO 5000 does not let you 'Find Alternative'! Should I have stayed with XL Live?


Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
2
Location
UK, Surrey
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5000, QL XL Live
Hi,

I recently bought the GO 5000 as a replacement for my XL Live because the touch screen failed on the XL. But now I disciver that the GO route management has no "Avoid Delay', or "Find Alternative" capability, both of which have been hugely useful to me in the past.

The GO costs far more than the XL Live yet has less functionality...... I intend to return it and post an unhappy review but first thought I'd ask the Forum whether I am missing something that actually does make the GO a better buy than an XL (or a Garmin!!)?

Many thanks and this is my first post ever, anywhere, so please be gentle with me :)

k
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,284
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Many have complained about those omissions in the application for the Go 5000 (and similar) models. One can only hope they will be returned in a future update but who knows?

Oh, welcome to TTF.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
2
Location
UK, Surrey
TomTom Model(s)
GO 5000, QL XL Live
Thanks for the welcome. Not surprised that there have been complaints! I just can't see any benefit to sticking with the GO - unless these functions are no longer available on XL either. ALthough to be fair, in all other respects the GO is very nice, no complaints.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
Just for info, it's only these latest GO models that are missing these features so far. Older GO models were OK.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
3
TomTom Model(s)
GO 500
The device automatically finds alternative when connected to the traffic servers. If you have "fastest route" chosen your GO 5000 will automatically offer alternatives while you are driving to avoid traffic. Essentially you are always given alternative routes along your journey - It's constantly monitoring real-time traffic (and road incidents) to route you around any delays.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,659
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
All well and good, providing Live traffic knows about the situation you have encountered. A bridge under construction in some backwater is a problem. There's no way to "Avoid roadblock" or "Avoid part of route" as there used to be with all prior TomTom units. Some of us are not happy.

It wasn't as though the prior dev teams included those features because they had nothing else to do on a Friday. Those were USEFUL features.
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
140
Location
San Francisco Bay area, West Coast, USA
TomTom Model(s)
XXL540, 2535M LIVE
Hear, hear.
Additionally, my live unit is not all that eager to offer a new route when there are delays. I've saved uncounted minutes by "playing" with the route, i.e. avoid delay, find alternative, drive via or restart planning from scratch.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
All well and good, providing Live traffic knows about the situation you have encountered.
Exactly that situation occured on my route last night...
A major road was closed for re-surfacing and the super-whoopy new GO5000 could not cope at all. Whenever I had to detour, it just kept trying to direct me back onto another section of the closed road.

On my old GO940 I could have just tapped "Avoid roadblock" and got a new route straight away.

Admit it, the new models are SERIOUSLY under-featured.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,659
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Feel free to add your complaints to magic number 6273, Andy! It would certainly be nice to know if there's a plan to deal with this issue.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top