Galaxy Tab as SatNav.


Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
24
Location
cambridge u.k.
TomTom Model(s)
Go720traffic, Go710 via120 Galaxy Tab Samsung s3 Smartphone
Is it possible to install tomtom android on galaxy tab and use without fitting a sim card?
 
Ad

Advertisements

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,458
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Yes, but you won't have HD traffic or speedcams without a sim or a wifi hotspot.

Also, some Galaxy Tab models have too high a resolution for the Tomtom app (so far).
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
24
Location
cambridge u.k.
TomTom Model(s)
Go720traffic, Go710 via120 Galaxy Tab Samsung s3 Smartphone
Thanks for the reply,its really whether to install tomtom maps on the galaxy tab which I don't have a sim card in and my phone which is a galaxy s3. The main advantage being the size of screen on the P1000 Tab.
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,458
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
You can purchase the app once and use it on both devices, along as you share the same Google Play account across the devices.

Also, if you have hotspot enabled by your phone carrier, you can share the Galaxy S3's data connection with the Galaxy Tab, and use the Tomtom traffic/speedcam services on the Galaxy Tab via a wifi-tether to the Galaxy S3 sim-data.

Both the Galaxy S3 and the Galaxy tab 7" (P1000) have resolutions that are compatible with the Tomtom app.

I'll move this thread to the mobile navigation subforum...
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
24
Location
cambridge u.k.
TomTom Model(s)
Go720traffic, Go710 via120 Galaxy Tab Samsung s3 Smartphone
Thank's for that,would you kindly explain in more detail how this can be done,I am not an expert so a step by step instruction would be perfect.
My network provider is Tmobile.
Thank You once again for what could be the solution to my needs.:)
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,458
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Regarding hotspot, the best thing is to call your phone carrier for support. Tell them you want to access the internet on the Galaxy tab wifi, using the S3's sim plan.

They should be able to tell you whether you need to upgrade your sim data plan so that the s3 can share its connection, and should be able to walk you through the connection steps.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
24
Location
cambridge u.k.
TomTom Model(s)
Go720traffic, Go710 via120 Galaxy Tab Samsung s3 Smartphone
Hi,
I've contacted Tmobile it would cost £10 +vat per month to make my s3 a hotspot for the Galaxy Tab which in my opinion would be too higher price to pay for the advantage of having a larger screen. Thanks for the help but I will have to decide now between the galaxy s3 and TomTom via 130.:confused:
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,458
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
The via130 doesn't have hd traffic, so it would only rely on historical patterns in routing.

That's no different than how the tomtom app on your galaxy tab would be without a sim plan. It will work but not give you live traffic/speedcams.

if you care about screensize and not traffic, just get the app for your galaxy tab and run it in offline mode.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
24
Location
cambridge u.k.
TomTom Model(s)
Go720traffic, Go710 via120 Galaxy Tab Samsung s3 Smartphone
Thanks for that it's certainly explained the alternatives and I can now decide how to proceed.:thumb::thumb:
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top