Europe maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by saxo, May 9, 2018.

  1. saxo

    saxo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 40
    G'day all,

    I've got a Rider 40 with World Maps and I've been trying to update the Europe maps for the last two days but I get to 6% and it just stops, counter resets to 0%. I should add that my broadband speed is pathetic, averages about 2.1Mbps.

    Is anyone else having a problem with updating Europe maps?

    Saxo
     
    saxo, May 9, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. saxo

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,755
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Might you have an antivirus affecting proper transmission?

    Support:

    [​IMG] Australia
    1300 135 604
    Monday-Friday:9:00 am to 5:30 pm AEST
     
    dhn, May 9, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. saxo

    saxo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 40
    I doubt it. I've got updated anti-virus & malware programs on the computer.
    As the Europe map data is about 6Gb, I'm suspecting that my poor broadband speed is causing the problem. Meaning, I think it's timing-out. Although, I have downloaded Europe & US (about the same size as Europe) before. They did take several hours but they didn't reset to 0% during the download.
     
    saxo, May 10, 2018
    #3
  4. saxo

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,412
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    For some, Kaspersky has created some interesting updating problems (to amplify on dhn's comment), but then you likely wouldn't even be getting to 6%.
     
    canderson, May 10, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.