Buy map to use on two different one's

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by crawforj, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. crawforj

    crawforj

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 One 3rd editions. One I have in my truck the other I leave on my Harley. If I buy a map from TOMTOM can I install it on both of my GPS's or would I have to pay for 2 maps>

    I hate to pay 79.95 times 2 for maps.

    Thanks
     
    crawforj, Jun 3, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. crawforj

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sorry, but maps are locked to a specific device when installed. You can't share maps, even when the units are the same model.
     
    dhn, Jun 3, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. crawforj

    CynicX

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, it sucks but if you could share between your two units then you could share with anyone. That is just bad business...

    HOWEVER I would only update the one you use the most. See if anything you've noticed that is incorrect is fixed or not. If your area is generally unaffected (to your knowledge anyway) there is no sense in buying it twice.

    The 79.00 maps are usually bigger maps. Do you drive your harley out of the country? Maybe, but if not consider a smaller map that is less expensive.

    You could also alternate updates. Do your truck now, next update do the motorcycle, then truck, etc etc.

    The last update (830) I got as part of my map subscription policy. Other then a couple speed limit changes I havent noticed any real differences. If it wasnt prepaid I wouldnt have gotten it...
     
    CynicX, Jun 5, 2009
    #3
  4. crawforj

    crawforj

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess I will wait till my next big road trip then up date.

    I was in Washington DC for Memorial Day and there were exits on my GPS that no longer existed. I got a little mad a time or two when the GPD was telling me to exit and there was no exit....LOL
     
    crawforj, Jun 8, 2009
    #4
  5. crawforj

    Vorlon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    All of them :)
    HI there

    The maps are locked on your device to your TomTom and also on your TomTom account. It would cause huge amounts of piracy if they did not do this.. Also dont try to use " other means " to get another map.. TomTom will know ;)

    Have fun
     
    Vorlon, Jun 8, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.