Vent mount


Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 620
Will the vent mount for the 520 be good for the 620
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,252
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
It's a matter of weight. The 620 is a bit heavier. TomTom doesn't sell a vent mount for the 620 because of that. It does put quite a bit of stress on them. But there's a good solution that mounts in the same spot.
I have procured a couple of things for a new unit that is the same size/weight as the 620. Have a look at these two items. One, of course, is specific to my vehicle (the plate). The ball fits the 620 and mounts to whatever plate is good for your vehicle.

https://www.proclipusa.com/product/855103-proclip-center-mount
Just start at https://www.proclipusa.com/product-finder/vehicle and tell it what you're driving and you'll see what is available for you.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009AYLYWA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

With this mounting design, you can be assured that you won't have the vent flopping around over every bump or even breaking a vent louver due to the weight of the 620.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2020
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go 620
It's a matter of weight. The 620 is a bit heavier. TomTom doesn't sell a vent mount for the 620 because of that. It does put quite a bit of stress on them. But there's a good solution that mounts in the same spot.
I have procured a couple of things for a new unit that is the same size/weight as the 620. Have a look at these two items. One, of course, is specific to my vehicle (the plate). The ball fits the 620 and mounts to whatever plate is good for your vehicle.

https://www.proclipusa.com/product/855103-proclip-center-mount
Just start at https://www was.proclipusa.com/product-finder/vehicle and tell it what you're driving and you'll see what is available for you.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009AYLYWA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

With this mounting design, you can be assured that you won't have the vent flopping around over every bump or even breaking a vent louver due to the weight of the 620.
Will the vent mount for the 520 be good for the 620
thankful so much I will look into it
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,252
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Ah, one word of caution. Everyone in the universe sells 17mm ball mounts. For whatever silly reason, TomTom's is a 16mm. You'll need to do some sanding on a 17mm ball to get it to fit. 1mm doesn't sound like a lot, but you'll spend some minutes in the process.

If you don't want to go to the trouble, and want a 16mm ball, it is going to cost a bit more (3X what I paid for the 17mm). See here >> https://www.proclipusa.com/product/tomtom-ball-mount-adapter-plate

Same source as for the plate. But as you can see, the cost is beginning to add up.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,611
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
That picture is for the GO 500/600 5000/6000.

Who ever came up with a crazy dimension like 17 mm.
5/8" = 0.625 mm, 16 mm = 0.630 mm only 5 thou larger.
 
Last edited:

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,252
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
That picture is for the GO 500/600 5000/6000.

Who ever came up with a crazy dimension like 17 mm.
5/8" = 0.625 mm, 16 mm = 0.630 mm only 5 thou larger.
Search the threads. We've plowed that field a couple of times already. Blame Garmin.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top