Updating Problems & Nightmares -> Change the USB cable

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by MrEBE, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. MrEBE

    MrEBE

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
    Hello,

    Just wished to have found this information quicker..

    I passed through all the update nightmares that many of us encountered with Tomtom updates..

    That is : infinite messages like "Problem with your device, try reconnect, endless/stopped timer, etc..

    All this stopped by.. changing the USB cable!

    TomTom, please change your cable's Provider!

    Hope this will help others.

    EBE
     
    MrEBE, Aug 5, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MrEBE

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF..Usually, it is people using a NON-tomtom provided cable that run into issues.
     
    dhn, Aug 6, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MrEBE

    MrEBE

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
    Hello,

    It was a new Start 25 with the Tomtom's cable.. You probably are right but I found other peoples who had the same problem..
     
    MrEBE, Aug 6, 2013
    #3
  4. MrEBE

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Just curious ........were you using a usb 3 port on your computer?
     
    dhn, Aug 6, 2013
    #4
  5. MrEBE

    MrEBE

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
    Nope, recent computer but using the front panel USB whig tonmy knowledge are USB2 ones
    The not working cable was a USB2 one.
     
    MrEBE, Aug 6, 2013
    #5
  6. MrEBE

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,239
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Interesting. Hate to put you through the brain damage, but what happens if you take the TomTom cable and connect to a rear USB port?
     
    canderson, Aug 7, 2013
    #6
  7. MrEBE

    MrEBE

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    TomTom Model(s):
    PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
    No problem.. I'll do it but we'll have to wait for another big update to test any consistent connexion.. (The errors were occuring after a few minutes (1 to 5min) of updating..)

    Anyway, any usb cable I tried in the front panel is working.. except the Tomtom's one..

    I'll report here..

    ps: indeed I'm not sure that the Tomtom's usb cable is a USB2 one. Last message above from me was written via my Iphone, and for some reasons, I thought there was a "USB 2" sticker on it.. but this is not the case..
     
    MrEBE, Aug 7, 2013
    #7
  8. MrEBE

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535, GO 620
    I would not be at all surprised if there is a problem with the USB cable. I have not had any problems with my TomTom cables, but I have been quite surprised how often problems have occurred with USB cables from a wide variety of sources. I see no reason why TomTom would be an exception to that.

    - Tom -
     
    - et -, Aug 7, 2013
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.