Updating Problems & Nightmares -> Change the USB cable


Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
4
Location
Switzerland
TomTom Model(s)
PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
Hello,

Just wished to have found this information quicker..

I passed through all the update nightmares that many of us encountered with Tomtom updates..

That is : infinite messages like "Problem with your device, try reconnect, endless/stopped timer, etc..

All this stopped by.. changing the USB cable!

TomTom, please change your cable's Provider!

Hope this will help others.

EBE
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,307
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Welcome to TTF..Usually, it is people using a NON-tomtom provided cable that run into issues.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
4
Location
Switzerland
TomTom Model(s)
PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
Hello,

It was a new Start 25 with the Tomtom's cable.. You probably are right but I found other peoples who had the same problem..
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,307
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Just curious ........were you using a usb 3 port on your computer?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
4
Location
Switzerland
TomTom Model(s)
PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
Nope, recent computer but using the front panel USB whig tonmy knowledge are USB2 ones
The not working cable was a USB2 one.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,675
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
Interesting. Hate to put you through the brain damage, but what happens if you take the TomTom cable and connect to a rear USB port?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
4
Location
Switzerland
TomTom Model(s)
PocketPC TomTom, GO720, START25
No problem.. I'll do it but we'll have to wait for another big update to test any consistent connexion.. (The errors were occuring after a few minutes (1 to 5min) of updating..)

Anyway, any usb cable I tried in the front panel is working.. except the Tomtom's one..

I'll report here..

ps: indeed I'm not sure that the Tomtom's usb cable is a USB2 one. Last message above from me was written via my Iphone, and for some reasons, I thought there was a "USB 2" sticker on it.. but this is not the case..
 
Ad

Advertisements

- et -

Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
521
Location
Southern California
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 540, GO Live 1535, GO 620
I would not be at all surprised if there is a problem with the USB cable. I have not had any problems with my TomTom cables, but I have been quite surprised how often problems have occurred with USB cables from a wide variety of sources. I see no reason why TomTom would be an exception to that.

- Tom -
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Updating old "TomTom one" 1
Updating TomTom 6200 4
Problems with updating Start60 10
Map updating problems XL 340-M 5
map updating problems 17
Nothing but problems updating 17
Problems updating maps 1
Updating problems 3

Top