Updating TomTom 6200

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by bobcole, Dec 23, 2019.

  1. bobcole

    bobcole

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to update my 6200. it is way out of date ie, not showing newish roads that have been open for several years, out of date speed limits on roads (I got a speeding fine and 3 points). When i try to update on WiFi it says there are no updates available.Device is up to date. I cannot get it to update through the computer ie tomtom mydrive connect, It just tells me to go through the WiFi option.
     
    bobcole, Dec 23, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bobcole

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    For devices like the 6200 and 620 with WiFi capability, MyDrive Connect only functions as a 'hard wired' way to update your device -- no user interaction with the app itself -- making WiFi unnecessary if it's not available.
    That said, there should be updates. What map version do you have now, and what firmware version?

    Find map version at (Menu Button) / Settings / Maps / Choose another map (don't choose it, just look to see what you have). Current version is 1040
    Find firmware version at (Menu Button) / ? / About

    Having established those, and with your device's serial number in hand, I'd be in contact with UK customer support,

    02079 490 134
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    canderson, Dec 23, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bobcole

    bobcole

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks will try tomorrow. Too late now.
     
    bobcole, Dec 23, 2019
    #3
  4. bobcole

    wjlelectric

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 1535 TM
    Hi
    I have a Tom Tom 1535TM. It is ready to be replaced because it’s getting too old.
    As far as your problem is concerned, I am just an amateur as far as technical problems are concerned. I would suggest you repost your question on Tom Tom Forums.com in the Technical Support section. There are people there who know all the answers. That’s what I do when I have a problem.
    Good Luck
     
    wjlelectric, Dec 24, 2019
    #4
  5. bobcole

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    We'll be able to find the posts here, no problem. I had thought to move it to the Tech Support section, but was afraid the OP might wonder where it had gone.
     
    canderson, Dec 24, 2019
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.