TopRam 150X 4GB SD card NFG for XL-S

TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL-S
I purchased a TopRam 150X 4GB SD for my XL-S and encountered more problems than I could imagine after I installed it. Occasionally, things would settle down and as long as I did not connect it to TTHome, it worked 'OK'. As soon as I'd try to update, it would lock up with the 'RED X'. I'm now an expert at resetting the thing. Downloading small files worked occasionally, but larger files crashed every time. I could not install another computer voice, no matter what I did. The reason I bought the TopRam 150X 4GB SD was that it's not advertised as an SDHC, but eventually a little Googling, Wikipedia, etc. I found that anything over 2G in an SD format is SDHC. So I swapped the TopRam with a 2G Sandisk Ultra II from my wife?s Nikon. Now she can store twice the number of photos on her camera and it downloads much faster. How about my XL-S, you ask? 100% of all problems were instantly gone and it hasn't hiccupped once! I installed the larger POI file, four computer voices, updated, etc. etc. and it works great. So I have fully convinced myself that the TopRam 4G card is SDHC & SDHC is not fully compatible with the XL-S. If you have an XL-S, go with 2G & be happy. A side benefit to all of this is that TTHome V2.2.1.58 now runs OK on my laptop with the 2G card installed, but no such luck on my desktop which still is very unhappy with V2.2.1.58.

So I have fully convinced myself that the TopRam 4G card is SDHC & SDHC is not fully compatible with the XL-S. If you have an XL-S, go with 2G & be happy. A side benefit to all of this is that TTHome V2.2.1.58 now runs OK on my laptop with the 2G card installed,.

You're correct SDHC are not compatible with ONE devices. I thought the TopRam 4GB cards were Non-HC, but I guess you proved that wrong! Oh well, there's really no reason for a 4GB card now anyway, since the larger maps are device specific!!!:mad: