TomTom XL350TM vs Garmin 1350T LMU

TomTom Model(s)
XL350TM
I'm a GPS newbie and recently bought the TT over the Garmin. I liked the better price point and there were a few things I thought made the TT better:
-MapShare
-1M more POIs
-IQ Routes
-heard TT has better customization options

Both has lifetime maps/traffic, which is a MUST for me.

Since I haven't tried the Garmin yet, I'm wondering if you have played w/ it before and how do these 2 units compare? Are there other units you'd recommend? I only want a strictly GPS unit, no other gadgets if possible and want to keep within a CAD$300 budget.

I've only had the TT for a few days but it seems ok, although the TTS prb is a bit annoying: hopefully there will be a fix coming soon from TT; also, there were some route selections I didn't quite agree w/.

I actually don't mind the EasyPort(sp?) because I just carry my GPS unit and don't like to detach the whole thing...actually, why do ppl want to take off the windshield attachment part, to further deter thieves?

That's my quick input for now. Hope to here more from better-informed ppl here! Thx.

"-heard TT has better customization options"

Beware any of the x50 models, including the 350. These have a "dumbed down" menu structure that may not permit some of the "customization" you'd hoped to find. Depending upon how you use it, it could be an issue, even with the newer firmware that improves things a bit.

I'd have a long look at the XL335TM instead (like the XL340TM but adds spoken street names). I don't think there's an XL340STM out there that speaks street names. You might also consider the XXL540TM and get it all.

"-heard TT has better customization options"

Beware any of the x50 models, including the 350. These have a "dumbed down" menu structure that may not permit some of the "customization" you'd hoped to find. Depending upon how you use it, it could be an issue, even with the newer firmware that improves things a bit.