TomTom and Bluetooth Personal Area Network (PAN)?

Discussion in 'Bluetooth/Phone Connectivity' started by TTiNTiN, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. TTiNTiN

    TTiNTiN

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know if TomTom is working on (or at least acknowledging that they need to work on) a way to use the GO x10s with Bluetooth Personal Area Network (PAN) profiles?

    All of the new PDA phones and Smartphones with Windows Mobile no longer have Bluetooth Dial-up Networking (DUN), which is required to take advantage of the traffic updates. On these phones, DUN was replaced with PAN, but as far as I can see, PAN just doesn't work with TomTom Traffic. I have been unable to find any tweaks that will go around this.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
    TTiNTiN, Feb 4, 2007
    #1
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  2. TTiNTiN

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Unless there is a firmwire for the Bluetooth on the x10 range. So far, I don't think TT has taken this account for. They should because so many users can't acess their TT Plus feature due to phones not compatible with accessing Plus.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TTiNTiN

    tkunchick

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any update to the BT PAN? Been many months....
     
    tkunchick, Dec 14, 2007
    #3
  4. TTiNTiN

    Tom_in_AZ

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2nd Edition
    There was a hack for my phone that allowed me to install the DUN on it since it only has PAN. Microsoft says in the Windows Moblie 6 the OS is shipped with both, it is the cellphone carrier & phone makers that turn off DUN, but it is still there capable of being turned on.

    I use a T-Mobile Wing, and it communicates fine with my Rider, however I have no idea what protocol it is using. I am assuming it is DUN because I do not need to turn on the PAN in the Windows screens on the phone.
     
    Tom_in_AZ, Dec 17, 2007
    #4
  5. TTiNTiN

    whodini

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    whodini, Dec 18, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.