Setting a favourite via current GPS location

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Pilaar39, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. Pilaar39

    Pilaar39

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    Still playing with the new Go510, and came up with an odd situation.

    I find that it I travel to a destination, I can add it to my favourites.. but only if I am on the road. Like, I stop on the street and add to favs (using GPS coords), and it says I am at 123 Main Street (or whatever), then I have the option to enter a nickname for the location.. like Mike's House. And that works fine.

    However, if I travel to a destination like a shopping mall or community center with a large parking lot, enter the lot, park, and then try to add to favs (again, using the GPS coords option), it shows a question mark as the location; I type in Costco (or whatever parking lot I am in), and it saves the location in the favs.

    However, the problem is with the latter, the stored fav is useless. If I am back at home, and navigate the Costco, it says it cannot find the route.

    It appears that if I store a fav using a GPS location for a spot that is not directly on a street, it cannot be used later.

    Has anyone experienced this? Is there a way around this, other than going back out the the street at the entrance to the facility and entering the fav from there?
     
    Pilaar39, Mar 29, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Pilaar39

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Pedro2NR, Mar 29, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Pilaar39

    Pilaar39

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    Thanks, I will check into it. Surprisingly, when I contacted TomTom to inquire about 3rd party maps, this was their reply:

    Are you saying 3rd party maps are supported on the Go510?
     
    Pilaar39, Mar 29, 2007
    #3
  4. Pilaar39

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    This is an application not a maps
    And this application works on all tomtom models
     
    Pedro2NR, Mar 29, 2007
    #4
  5. Pilaar39

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    More maps to come? great!!
     
    battom, Mar 29, 2007
    #5
  6. Pilaar39

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    The TomTom device is not designed for off-road travel. So it always 'snaps' to the closest road. If you set your favourite at the point where you turn into the mall, it should work. But if you set it from inside a very large parking lot off the road, it won't work.

    As mentioned above, the add-on program 'Off Road' let's you navigate to points like this, but you won't see a map display, unfortunately.
     
    46jimbo, Mar 29, 2007
    #6
  7. Pilaar39

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    I use a slightly different technique:
    1- Browse map 2- Current GPS position 3- add Favorites 4- Point on map
    And it works all the time, strange.
     
    lec510, Mar 29, 2007
    #7
    1 person likes this.
  8. Pilaar39

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    46jimbo is correct. If you do the BROWSE MAP option and try to position the cursor in an open area (I browsed to my local park near my house) and click in a blank area it 'snaps' to the nearest road even if you're not.
     
    digital-flex, Mar 29, 2007
    #8
  9. Pilaar39

    Pilaar39

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510

    Thanks for the reply. I just tried that, and it appears to work fine.

    I was wondering what that 'cursor' function did, now I know!
     
    Pilaar39, Mar 29, 2007
    #9
  10. Pilaar39

    battom

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    28
    Ditto! 100% works for me too!
     
    battom, Mar 29, 2007
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.