Printable trip logging?

Hello, folks!

I'm quite exasperated at this point - I've been doing a fair amount of web searching and have not yet found a clear answer to what I need to know.

I'm a social worker. My job requires a fair amount of driving, which I am reimbursed for. Our company was recently acquired by another larger company. They now want us to Mapquest everywhere we go. This is ludicrous, I'd have to submit a ream of paper with my mileage sheet.

Now, I know I can buy a GPS trip logger. However, I'd already been toying with the idea of buying an affordable GPS navigator for my car for personal use anyway.

So, the question is...is there an affordable GPS navigator that I could buy that would allow me to log each leg of my trip and then print said log out? Is this a matter of finding the right software, the right GPS, or both? Any help I can get with this question would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I assume you have to maintain a log of the places you visit. At the end of the day use Tyre and Google Maps to create an itinerary of your day's travel. While in Google Maps you can print the turn by turn itinerary with distances and times.

you might want to try event logger. truly the black box for the tomtom.

shows everywhere you go, every stop, how long you stopped, speed etc etc. Once installed it does this without any need for user intervention. great program!

I haven't tried to print from this program but it shouldn't be any problem to do that.

'+'

If I read it correctly, Event Logger creates an itinerary file. If that is so, at the end of the day you could connect your TomTom to your PC, launch Tyre, open the itinerary file, take it into Google Maps and print the report. I will try it and report back.

Using internet explorer, navigate to the "itn" folder and open the trk file of the correct date/time.

example file name...... Trk_09-09-07_16-13-34.xml

this is a file with an xml extension.