Plotting 'salesman' route using GPS coordinates

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by MIchael Finney, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. MIchael Finney

    MIchael Finney

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO2535TM
    Hi Folks,

    My job requires me to visit multiple retail shop across the country.

    I have a list with the GPS coordinates of each premises which I sourced from google maps
    ie: - the gps for Waterstones in London

    51.507585, -0.126901

    Is it possible for me to enter the coordinates for each premises into the tomtom, and once I have visted one,
    the next nearest premises & it's coordinates will be displayed on the tomtom with a location pin?

    I should point out I do not own a tomtom at this stage so if i could get pointer for a model which would do
    this also.

    Thanks. Mick.
     
    MIchael Finney, Nov 6, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MIchael Finney

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,210
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    These little gadgets don't have the horsepower to compute a goodly sized list of stops. Consider this site http://gebweb.net/optimap/ as a starting point for planning and sending the route to your TomTom or other device. Any of the recent series of TomTom GO units can handle imported routes. Here's a little more info on it https://gebweb.net/blogpost/2012/01/25/optimap-version-4-is-here/

    There are some other tools of a similar nature out there. Anything that will generate a file that a TomTom can handle (*.itn or *.gpx) will do the job quicker and likely more efficiently in terms of routing than could possibly be done on one of these little devices. Routes are sent to the device either over WiFi or when hard connected to your PC, using TomTom's cloud app to import Point of Interest files and routes. They show up under "My Routes" on the device after they are imported.
     
    canderson, Nov 6, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. MIchael Finney

    MIchael Finney

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO2535TM
    Thanks for your reply & info canderson.

    It seems a little convoluted, not on your part, but by tomtom.

    I'm sure I could enter a multiple new destenations & name them as each shop name?

    Only talking 80 or so addresses within a 100 mile radius at the moment.

    Thanks again.
     
    MIchael Finney, Nov 8, 2017
    #3
  4. MIchael Finney

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,916
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    If you are not selecting the itn or gpx routes suggested by anderson bear in mind that in a POI category entries are listed by distance to current location.
    It my be a good idea to preface the entries in you alphabetical list by 01, 02, 03 ... 10, 11 etc.
     
    Arno, Nov 8, 2017
    #4
  5. MIchael Finney

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,210
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Unfortunately, this 'math problem' isn't as trivial as one might assume, and any increase in the number of points doesn't increase the computing power needed in a simple linear fashion. In fact, the problem you pose (how to reach all in a set of points using the least possible distance) is one that has been considered since the early 1800's, and its math studied extensively since about 1930. While there are algorithms that have been discovered that improve the situation, there's a lot of brute force computation going on to make it work successfully... more brute force than these little gadgets possess to get the job done in a reasonable amount of time.

    Here's a quick bit of info on it -- might be fun reading. Scroll down to "History" here >> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Travelling_salesman_problem
     
    canderson, Nov 8, 2017
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. karpathian

    GPS route validation using Tripmaster?

    karpathian, Feb 14, 2008, in forum: TomTom 3rd Party Software
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,205
    karpathian
    Feb 14, 2008
  2. Lixx

    Can I use GPS coordinates to edit existing POI?

    Lixx, Sep 2, 2008, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,069
  3. rontuu

    XL 335 SE - Navigate via GPS Coordinates

    rontuu, May 22, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    10,007
    rontuu
    May 25, 2010
  4. Mike G

    XXL 550, Unable to enter GPS Coordinates

    Mike G, Aug 13, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,593
    Mike G
    Aug 13, 2010
  5. beppig

    Entering GPS Coordinates into a XL350TM

    beppig, Nov 13, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,317
    canderson
    Nov 13, 2010
  6. dom37

    Modify the coordinates gps of then already P.O.I stored

    dom37, Dec 20, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,078
  7. misterkozy

    Acquiring GPS Coordinates

    misterkozy, Jan 12, 2011, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    899
    canderson
    Jan 13, 2011
  8. Keith Howell
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    623
Loading...