Need bigger SD Card


Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
5
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
One
I have a TomTom One which I am told is a legacy device? I want to update my maps of UK and Europe but am told that I need a memory of at least 2 Gig. I have the original Tom Tom card in the device at present, which I believe is too small. I have inserted a 4Gig SDHD card into the tom tom and this dispaly just signals me to remove it.
Can anyone tell me (simply) how to install a new Card and is a 4 Gig SDHD card suitable

Many thanks

VinceB
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
That model does not read sdhc cards, only sd cards.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
5
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
One
Thank you for that info.
If I put in an SD card do I need to do anything to perhaps "format" the card and also to transfer information from the old card?

VinceB
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
It should be fat 32 as the format. Yes, for that model, everything meeds to be on the card, maps AND the application files as well.

You can use up to a 4 gb sd card but I understand that a 4gb card is hard to find these days.

Again, we are talking about NON-sdhc cards here.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
5
Location
UK
TomTom Model(s)
One
Thanks.

I will try to find the appropriate SD card and see what happens. I suppose if I put the old SD card into computer and save all files I can then load them onto the new card?? Does that sound sensible??

VinceB
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
5
Location
SW Ontario; Southern USA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE 2nd Edition - 1GB
I have a TomTom One which I am told is a legacy device? I want to update my maps of UK and Europe but am told that I need a memory of at least 2 Gig. I have the original Tom Tom card in the device at present, which I believe is too small. I have inserted a 4Gig SDHD card into the tom tom and this dispaly just signals me to remove it.
Can anyone tell me (simply) how to install a new Card and is a 4 Gig SDHD card suitable

Many thanks

VinceB
Am rather new to this and trying to update my UK maps and NA maps.... having troubles figuring this out.

I do know one thing though; I have read repeatedly that the max size of SDRAM in the TomTom One series is 2GB. I think the chip has to be inserted when you turn the device on in order to have the maps recognized. I have a chip with old UK maps and Western Europe maps on it and if I boot up with the chip installed I see the two maps. If I boot up without the chip installed I see the default USA/Canada map.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
If the sd card has the application and maps on it, the unit boots from the card and 'sees' the maps installed on it.

If you boot up without the sd card installed, and also have the application on internal, then the unit boots from internal and the application 'sees' (and uses) whatever map is installed there.

I think that is what is happening.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top