Importing an address book to POIs or Favorites?


Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
17
Location
Tampa, FL
TomTom Model(s)
Go 720
I know that you can import your phone numbers into the 720, but does anyone know if there is a way to import an address book into your favorites or add it as a list of POIs? I used to have a GPS for my PPC and it was great being able to select a contact as your destination as opposed to having to enter all the information.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
You will have to do it manually using Poiedit and entering the gps coordinates.
I have all my friends and family as a POI instead of favorites. This is much easier to control and I can add their phone numbers to the listing.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
17
Location
Tampa, FL
TomTom Model(s)
Go 720
Thanks. I have MapPoint 2009 and am looking into ways to simplify this. There has to be a way to import addresses and export them with GPS coordinates. I found some information using Visual Basic, but I haven't programmed for years lol. If I can figure something out, I'll post it here.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
17
Location
Tampa, FL
TomTom Model(s)
Go 720
Thanks. I found a pushpin tool that would let me do it in MapPoint, but it was $75 for the full version. Looks to be running fine now. Thanksabunch!

Drew
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 16, 2009
Messages
10
You can use this website to convert the addresses.
Also follow the procedure explained by tomtom how to use Excel to export the information.
I have been trying to get this to work. The GeoCoder sites work fine, great find!

The makeov2.exe tool. opens a Command Window momentarily and closes right away.

Any ideas what the issue may be here?

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
I have been trying to get this to work. The GeoCoder sites work fine, great find!

The makeov2.exe tool. opens a Command Window momentarily and closes right away.

Any ideas what the issue may be here?

Thanks
You can use POIedit to convert the file into a .ov2 file.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top