Importing Maps from Google Maps

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by hogrider, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. hogrider

    hogrider

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Can / how is this done? I've tried using Tyre, but without much success. I recently bought a 720 and would like to plan some motorcycle trips. Is it as simple as exporting the maps to a memory card? Thanks for the help.

    Marty[/SIZE]
     
    hogrider, Jul 29, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. hogrider

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,051
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Jul 29, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. hogrider

    eldorado

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    This is what I got
    Sorry, the page you were looking for could not be found.
    Suggested Actions
    • Check the URL that you have typed and retry.

    • Been trying to get google stuff to my OneXL also and it won't put the info on the TT????
     
    eldorado, Aug 12, 2013
    #3
  4. hogrider

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    I haven't tried this in a few years, but this web utility used to work very well for importing Google waypoints to a TomTom itinerary. See http://www.houghi.org/tomtom/

    Hope this helps.
     
    alfie67, Aug 12, 2013
    #4
  5. hogrider

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Importing MAPS from Google - No you can't. That is impossible on any TomTom.

    Importing locations or route details - that's possible.
    On your model you can use .itn itinerary files, so you just need a utility to convert to that from the .kml or whatever you're getting from Google.

    The "Houghi script" mentioned above still works too AFAIK.
     
    Andy_P, Aug 12, 2013
    #5
  6. hogrider

    1776

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL-S
    I use Tyre with my Tom Tom and it works very well. You are not importing maps - you are planning your itinerary route with waypoints on Tyre and transferring those start, end, and waypoints to the Itinerary screen on the Tom Tom using Save to Tom Tom on Tyre. Check your route on the Tom Tom after you do this as it may recalculate the route to what it wants to take to and between those points.
     
    1776, Aug 14, 2013
    #6
  7. hogrider

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I never got Houghi to work and TYRE to work quite well for ".itn"s.

    In the days of unlimited POI distances I found it much better to make a custom category, make POIs in HOME then opened TYRE and moved the to the exact coordinates and renamed them to something meaningful (instead of TomTom's street address).

    With Add Community Content in the MyTomTomSupportApplication (computer tray) Custom POIs can still be installed.
     
    Arno, Aug 14, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.