Importing Maps from Google Maps


Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
2
TomTom Model(s)
720
Can / how is this done? I've tried using Tyre, but without much success. I recently bought a 720 and would like to plan some motorcycle trips. Is it as simple as exporting the maps to a memory card? Thanks for the help.

Marty[/SIZE]
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
421
TomTom Model(s)
340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
I haven't tried this in a few years, but this web utility used to work very well for importing Google waypoints to a TomTom itinerary. See http://www.houghi.org/tomtom/

Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
4,683
Location
London, UK.
TomTom Model(s)
Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
Importing MAPS from Google - No you can't. That is impossible on any TomTom.

Importing locations or route details - that's possible.
On your model you can use .itn itinerary files, so you just need a utility to convert to that from the .kml or whatever you're getting from Google.

The "Houghi script" mentioned above still works too AFAIK.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
53
TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL-S
I use Tyre with my Tom Tom and it works very well. You are not importing maps - you are planning your itinerary route with waypoints on Tyre and transferring those start, end, and waypoints to the Itinerary screen on the Tom Tom using Save to Tom Tom on Tyre. Check your route on the Tom Tom after you do this as it may recalculate the route to what it wants to take to and between those points.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,677
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I never got Houghi to work and TYRE to work quite well for ".itn"s.

In the days of unlimited POI distances I found it much better to make a custom category, make POIs in HOME then opened TYRE and moved the to the exact coordinates and renamed them to something meaningful (instead of TomTom's street address).

With Add Community Content in the MyTomTomSupportApplication (computer tray) Custom POIs can still be installed.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top