Editing Speed Limits?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by thestaton, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. thestaton

    thestaton

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    I installed the 7.15 map update, and it has added speed limits to I-64. The only problem is, it's not the correct max speed limit.

    The TomTom is set to 65MPH, and the legal limit is 70MPH. Anyway to change this?
     
    thestaton, Feb 21, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. thestaton

    JVRaschi

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    TomTom Model(s):
    one xl
    Good question. In addition, is it possible to set speed limits for roads that aren't set by the map?
     
    JVRaschi, Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. thestaton

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You can correct that in Map corrections
     
    Smokiewolf, Feb 22, 2008
    #3
  4. thestaton

    The Spook

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    31.105192, 121.013781
    TomTom Model(s):
    910, 720 and ONE NE
    Unfortunately not.

    No. You can report the correct speed limit to TT, via Mapshare.

    No! You can only report it under Map Corrections. It will not change it on your device.
     
    The Spook, Feb 22, 2008
    #4
  5. thestaton

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Report it, that's what I meant...:rolleyes:
    Where ya been spook? Seems like you were gone for a while...
     
    Smokiewolf, Feb 23, 2008
    #5
  6. thestaton

    The Spook

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    31.105192, 121.013781
    TomTom Model(s):
    910, 720 and ONE NE
    I've been around. I keep an eye on the forum. But I generally only comment where I really feel passionate about an issue, where I know something that it appears no-one else does, or when I can answer a question that has gone unanswered by the rest the forum members. I always try to help where I can.
     
    The Spook, Feb 23, 2008
    #6
  7. thestaton

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Cool, I know what you mean. I just recently figured out the subscriptions, and that has gotten me more involved.
     
    Smokiewolf, Feb 24, 2008
    #7
  8. thestaton

    dkfredrickson

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Incorrect Speed Limit

    I have went back and forth and they told there was no resolution to the device showing 29 instead of 30 for the speed limit. This is prety shameful. I have made aliving writing embedded code and IT IS A SIMPLE EMBEDDED CODE PROBLEM. Until they give me a patch, I'm telling everyone to use a different brand.

    TOMTOM Support is terrible!!!!!!!
     
    dkfredrickson, Dec 28, 2009
    #8
  9. thestaton

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Welcome to the forum, this bug is known about and only affects users that employ the MPH unit of measurement (North America and UK) all out mainland Europe countries are fine as they use KPH and the error you are seeing is to do with the rounding differences that creep in when converting from one unit to the other.
    Small consolation but this bug has been around a while by now so please complain to TomTom about the issue as its the only way they will listen, as it stands I don't bother correcting speed limits these days as I am fed up with the device displaying the incorrect speed when I know what I enter is correct. At the end of the day TomTom are the ones losing out as MapShare is a great idea in concept but flawed by poor implementation, this being yet another example of whats wrong with it - Mike
     
    mikealder, Dec 28, 2009
    #9
  10. thestaton

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    This bug has been fixed in application 8.350 and higher.

    You probably have an older 2008 device that doesn't support these newer applications.
     
    mvl, Dec 31, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.