Can TomTom VIA 1505M accept Tyre Maps?

Discussion in 'Which TomTom Should I Buy?' started by TomatoSF, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. TomatoSF

    TomatoSF

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1505 M
    I am going to Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro in June and looked into the TomTom Via 1505 M World Traveler GPS for car navigation. Will need to know whether this model will work with Tyre so I can pre-plan my routes. That is also because many said TomTom coverage in Bosnia is very sparse. Thank you.
     
    TomatoSF, Feb 11, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TomatoSF

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    TomTom supports almost NO mapping in Bosnia (only a handful of major highways), and you cannot force the device to route you to places where it does not know the roads, even if you have the coordinates from a tool like TYRE. You will wind up trying to go to coordinates, and the device will show "No Route Found". Cannot recommend a TomTom for Bosnia trips!
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
    canderson, Feb 11, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TomatoSF

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Feb 11, 2015
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.