Adapting GO1005 for Motorcycle Use (power feed?)

TomTom Model(s)
Hi

I have a handy carrier from motorcycle accessory firm GIVI which allows me to use the 1005 on my 'bike.

It is however unpowered so I am constrained to the internal battery life.

Any tips on how I can power it? I'm a competent home mechanic and can run the wiring....but the 1005 sits in a cradle and takes its power this way... Can I get a termination that will plug into the unit?

Many thanks

If I'm remembering the 1005 correctly, it has a rather peculiar connector on the bottom, does it not? There are cables around that I believe match that connection, even without the dock.

I'm not recommending this one specifically, but does it appear that this will fit your unit if undocked? http://www.amazon.com/Lifetime-GO-Navigator-4UUC-001-03B-4UUC-003-01/dp/B006W4B17Y
If so, we can work from there.

If I'm remembering the 1005 correctly, it has a rather peculiar connector on the bottom, does it not? There are cables around that I believe match that connection, even without the dock.

I'm not recommending this one specifically, but does it appear that this will fit your unit if undocked? http://www.amazon.com/Lifetime-GO-Navigator-4UUC-001-03B-4UUC-003-01/dp/B006W4B17Y
If so, we can work from there.

Yes, you've got the picture.

In fact I can pull the lead out of the dock and it looks like this.

Presumably, with the correct fitting I can run that straight from the bike's 12V outlet (similar too but smaller than the cigarette lighter type) - assuming there would be no protection from the cigarette socket - or do I need a protective fuse (what rating would you recommend?)

I guess there's an aftermarket version of the cable ...it's rather pricy!

Many thanks