SatNav to replace my GO1005


Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO1005
Hello, I have posted before about my trusty Go1005 no longer receiving Traffic,etc. info because the SIM has expired (or remotely switched off). I now would like a new satnav with at least the facilities of the GO1005. Prime requirement is a headphone socket which receives routing instructions. (Or Bluetooth will suffice if available). I connect the socket to a homemade induction loop amplifier for my hearing aids. I know the M/C satnavs work with Bluetooth, but they only have small screens.These headphone sockets must have gone out of favour as they are not available on any new satnav. If I buy a new satnav which requires an attached smartphone, can I use the smartphone headphone socket to hear the routing instructions? What about the new Premium and Premium X range?
I would really rather prefer to get my 1005 working again. Can I fit a new SIM myself, or can someone else do it for me?
Many thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
You make it sound as though your GO 1005 had a headphone jack. They STILL aren't making a unit with an 1/8" audio out jack. Haven't since the old Nav2 GO days. Not sure what the docks did for a 1005 in the UK, but certainly no audio here.
The only models that employ a Bluetooth (A2DP) audio stream are the ones designed for motorcycle use.
Some sort of audio-out other than the speaker seems to be impossible to get through a design specification these days.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO1005
You make it sound as though your GO 1005 had a headphone jack. They STILL aren't making a unit with an 1/8" audio out jack. Haven't since the old Nav2 GO days. Not sure what the docks did for a 1005 in the UK, but certainly no audio here.
The only models that employ a Bluetooth (A2DP) audio stream are the ones designed for motorcycle use.
Some sort of audio-out other than the speaker seems to be impossible to get through a design specification these days.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO1005
Hi, many thanks for your quick reply. Sorry, I did make it sound like the 1005 had a headphone jack. In fact, I was able to get a suitable Proclip/Brodit mount from the US to fit my Nissan Micra dashboard. The connector on the TomTom supplied adaptor which fitted the Proclip/Brodit mount also mated with the connector on the bottom of the 1005. The two connections on the TomTom adaptor were for power in and a headphone socket for audio out. That's how I got headphone audio from the 1005. I assume that there is still no way to get the SIM and Services on my 1005 working again. I assume that TomTom will not repair it. Is it worth trying?
I also assume that neither of the new Premium models have any sort of audio output. What about Bluetooth for routing and traffic via a Smartphone? Smartphones have a headphone socket.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Not knowing the history, it's hard to say about your SIM. A while back, TomTom DID start to pare off all of the SIM authentications for old SIM cards that had never been used. By any chance it that the case? If not, I was unaware that there was ever any expiry on these. Did your particular iteration of the 1005 come with 'Lifetime Traffic'?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO1005
Not knowing the history, it's hard to say about your SIM. A while back, TomTom DID start to pare off all of the SIM authentications for old SIM cards that had never been used. By any chance it that the case? If not, I was unaware that there was ever any expiry on these. Did your particular iteration of the 1005 come with 'Lifetime Traffic'?
Not knowing the history, it's hard to say about your SIM. A while back, TomTom DID start to pare off all of the SIM authentications for old SIM cards that had never been used. By any chance it that the case? If not, I was unaware that there was ever any expiry on these. Did your particular iteration of the 1005 come with 'Lifetime Traffic'?
Not knowing the history, it's hard to say about your SIM. A while back, TomTom DID start to pare off all of the SIM authentications for old SIM cards that had never been used. By any chance it that the case? If not, I was unaware that there was ever any expiry on these. Did your particular iteration of the 1005 come with 'Lifetime Traffic'?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
7
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
GO1005
Hello, many thanks for your continued interest in my problem. We moved from London to Birmingham (UK) about 5 years ago, so all my old technical and purchase records are filed away. I will retrieve them in due course, so there will be a significant delay in my replying again with more info about my 1005. In the meantime, if you hear about a satnav available in the UK, that will meet my requirements, please let me know. I have just started trying TomTom's mobile app on a smartphone. It works, but I would still prefer a dedicated, self-contained all singing, all dancing, Satnav on my windscreen or on the dash. Even if I could afford a new car with a built in Satnav, I don't expect it will have a headset socket which also mutes the loudspeaker.
Best regards,
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top