activation

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by tomhagg, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. tomhagg

    tomhagg

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    AP1332A90658
    Hi,I just bought a map through mydrive,I have downloaded the map and it appears to be installed into my tomtom ok,im new to this do I need to activate the map?because I recieved two emails one of which thanked me for my purchase of the map,the second email was about activation and coulnt be easier click here when I clicked onto the link thier was nothing in relation to activation,my tomtom seems to be ok this I feel very strange.
     
    tomhagg, Jan 10, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tomhagg

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You shouldn't need activation. Have you tried the map on your device? Maybe maps--switch maps.

    Also, try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
    dhn, Jan 10, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tomhagg

    tomhagg

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    AP1332A90658
    Thankyou for replying to my thread,tomtom seems to be working ok,what do you mean by tied the map as I mention earlier im new to this,once again thankyou.
     
    tomhagg, Jan 10, 2017
    #3
  4. tomhagg

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    'Tried the map', have you tried to program a destination and did your device try to take you there?
     
    Arno, Jan 10, 2017
    #4
  5. tomhagg

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,222
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I think he meant 'tried' vs. 'tied'.

    @David
    So we know going forward, that AP serial number indicates a Nav3 Start 20.
     
    canderson, Jan 10, 2017
    #5
  6. tomhagg

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,545
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Corrected my typo, thanks.
     
    dhn, Jan 11, 2017
    #6
  7. tomhagg

    tomhagg

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    TomTom Model(s):
    AP1332A90658
    yes I tried a destination,and it tried to take me there,thanks.
     
    tomhagg, Jan 11, 2017
    #7
  8. tomhagg

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Glad to hear that you are all set then.
     
    Arno, Jan 11, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.