Tomtom contact list: first name, last name?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by rudeboymcc, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I've got Navigator 6 on a symbian UIQ device. All my contacts have their addresses already and i prefer this than adding favourites to tomtom all the time. Trouble is when I go to navigate>contact, it brings all my contacts listed as Lastname, First Name.

    I view my contacts as First name last name, and some don't even have last names. when theres no last name, it just uses the previous contacts last name!. e.g.
    list is

    John Smith
    Mum
    Dad

    tomtom will list it as
    Smith, John
    Smith, Mum
    Smith, Dad

    This ruins the order. but even worse, if i try using "find", it crashes as soon as i input the first letter (probably related to above).

    Anyone have a solution apart from renaming all my contacts?
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 5, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    30 views and no reply, I take that as it's not possible to fix it.
    So I exported all my outlook contacts, and merged all the first name, lastname and put both fields as the first name.

    This made tomtom happy to list them all properly, and it turns out the "crashing" when i try searching, is just tomotm being VERY slow. (5 seconds per letter i search for). but this is not too bad I guess.
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 5, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rudeboymcc

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    How large is your contact list? You may simply have too many for the unit to process.

    I can report that my GO720 works great with ~50 contacts. There is no lag between letters.

    Also, I haven't encountered the Lastname problem which you described. I have a number of contacts with just a Firstname & they all display fine (without a Lastname).

    For the TomTom GO line, you can hand-edit the contact list. This thread has info on it. Looks like there's just a single NAME field, Not separate ones for First & Last. So, maybe that's the problem?

    R?
     
    Ricochet, Apr 6, 2009
    #3
  4. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only have 200 contacts. i'm using Navigator 6 and can't find this contacts file that thread talks about.

    wierd thing is the first time it shows all the contacts it's immediate. but when i search it's slow.
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 6, 2009
    #4
  5. rudeboymcc

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I believe you create the file, contact.txt and place it in the contacts folder.
     
    dhn, Apr 6, 2009
    #5
  6. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll try that. But this is so that i can navigate to contacts. How do I put contacts addresses in the contacts.txt file? THe link only shows phone numbers.
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 6, 2009
    #6
  7. rudeboymcc

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    It's a simple text file.
     
    dhn, Apr 6, 2009
    #7
  8. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, I meant what format does it have to be in for Tomtom to understand it...
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 6, 2009
    #8
  9. rudeboymcc

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    If that version of Navigator 6 stores & displays addresses, then it probably uses a different format for its file, instead of what I posted.

    And if you already have 200 names in your contact listing, that file should be present.

    Sounds more like an entirely different system for managing contacts. :confused:
     
    Ricochet, Apr 6, 2009
    #9
  10. rudeboymcc

    rudeboymcc

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it must be compeltely different. I can't find a contacts.txt file in /Contacts, and iif i put one in there it ignores it.

    The seach is pretty advanced though, if i type in for example the letters "AN" in seach, it will display any contact with those two letters anywhere in the name (like Jonathan). Maybe this is why it takes so long.

    Does mean it has a better search function than my UIQ phone though :)
     
    rudeboymcc, Apr 6, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.