TomTom Computer voice

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Andrewd, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. Andrewd

    Andrewd

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have searched through this forum forever and can't seem to find an answer. I have installed the computer voice DAVE from the Tomtom home software. My tom tom shows it is installed but it won't show up in the voice's.. for some reason no computer voice's will show up. just standed voice but I need the TTS.. can anyone help???
     
    Andrewd, Jun 15, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Andrewd

    HEMIDAZE

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my XLS there is no room for 2 computer voices. The file is too big. You have to delete one before you install one. I put Dave on mine and did not like it. I am currently using Kate. English but easier to understand than Dave.
     
    HEMIDAZE, Jun 17, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Andrewd

    Larry Laffer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    130S
    Dave

    Where can the Dave file be downloaded??
     
    Larry Laffer, Jun 21, 2008
    #3
  4. Andrewd

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,556
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Start TTHome with our unit connected. Click on Add Maps/Voices icon. NOW, arrow right 2 screens and you'll see Computer voices. Click that.
     
    dhn, Jun 21, 2008
    #4
  5. Andrewd

    StewNTexas1

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ingleside, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    I too went nuts with my XL-S and the different voices. What a toy....for a while.

    I downloaded C3P0, John Cleese and Mr. T. They are funny, and fun to listen to for a while, then you want real directions with correct street names. The only way to get that is to go back to 'Computer Voices'.

    I have had the 'novelty' voices for a few months now, and do not use them. I plan to remove them within a few days.
     
    StewNTexas1, Jun 22, 2008
    #5
  6. Andrewd

    garypeter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have downloaded the dave and kate computer file but can not select it from change voices how do i select it to use whilst driving it is in the memory but cannot find it to select it. THIS IS ALSO THE QUESTION ASKED BY THE FIRST POST BUT NO-ONE HAS REALLY ANSWERED IT PLEASE HELP
     
    garypeter, Jun 30, 2008
    #6
  7. Andrewd

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,556
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, an obvious question ..... does your model handle TTS (text to speech) voices? Not all do. Do you have a LoquendoTTS folder in your unit (use Explorer to see). You need the contents of that to make the voices work.

    Use Home to look at Contents of My Unit. Is a voice listed?

    These are things to check.
     
    dhn, Jun 30, 2008
    #7
  8. Andrewd

    sfranb21

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have the TomTom ONE XL model, it does not support computer voices. You need the ONE XL-S or higher. I found this out the hard way as well.
     
    sfranb21, Jul 25, 2008
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.