cell phone and data connection require Pin Reset

Discussion in 'Bluetooth/Phone Connectivity' started by willcliine64, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. willcliine64

    willcliine64

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed phone service to AT&T with a Sony Ericcson w518. Bluetooth and data service connected fine with my TT930. When I attempt to use the TT930 after shutting it off, I must do a pin reset to reestablish the data conncetion. I tried using the flash tool but it did not really change things...I get the data service after rebooting but once shut off, I must pin reset the device to establish data connection. I happy to have this service, but wonder is there anyway to circumvent this? I have a TT930T with ver 8.351.

    I changed my cell carrier since my sprint phone no longer would establish the data service after working for nearly a year.

    Regards,

    Bill
     
    willcliine64, Jan 17, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. willcliine64

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Try downgrading to app 8.302 per this link.
     
    mvl, Jan 20, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. willcliine64

    willcliine64

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    update

    Thanks for your help.

    I did the downgrade to 8.302, but still had issues with the data connection dropping while using plus traffic. I noticed three things: 1. If I cut the traffic update interval to every 2 minutes, I was able to maintain traffic throughout my trip....when I spaced it out to 10 minutes it would not update and would say a data connection could not be established. 2. If I made a hands free call via my TT, my data connection would return after the call was completed. 3. If I simply disabled my phone bluetooth and then turn it back on, the data connection would be working. I have since upgraded again to 8.351 and have no new issues, If I get a data connection error and place a hands free call or turn off( then back on) the phone bluetooth, it usually works.

    Regards,

    Bill
     
    willcliine64, Feb 2, 2010
    #3
  4. willcliine64

    doctormstein1

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Holtsville, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    2535M Live
    Just a thought for me if I allow unlimited updates everything works very well.
     
    doctormstein1, Feb 2, 2010
    #4
  5. willcliine64

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    voice and data should work at the same time in 3g mode. do you have 3g enabled? did you choose "cingular medianet" when setting up the data settings?
     
    mvl, Feb 2, 2010
    #5
  6. willcliine64

    willcliine64

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have 3G on AT&T and it is enable as for as my phone access. I did use the cingular medianet when setting up the data. As far as I know it appears I'm able to use both voice and data at the same time...both icons (hands free and media/internet) appear on my phone when linked to my tomtom.

    Bill
     
    willcliine64, Feb 3, 2010
    #6
  7. willcliine64

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Well, sounds like a Tomtom vs phone incompatibility. Are their firmware updates available for your phone?
     
    mvl, Feb 5, 2010
    #7
  8. willcliine64

    willcliine64

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not aware of any firmware update for the phone, but I'm happy to be able to get the data service again despite having to do pin resets or turning on and off the bluetooth.

    Regards,

    Bill
     
    willcliine64, Feb 9, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.