Go 910, Annoying issue, map view auto-sizing. Any way to control?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by EH56, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had this Go 910 for years now and having had 2 other Garmin GPS devices before this one, to me one of the most annoying features with the 910 is that when in "street view", I'm unable to keep the map size to whatever I'd like it to be. If I want to expand the map to view a larger viewing area, it always automatically re sizes back in seconds and there are times when I'd prefer it just stay on an expanded area view.
    Anyone here know if that's possible?


    Another very annoying thing about this GPS compared to a Garmin is that it doesn't automatically shut off when the power is disconnected. I have to manually press the power button. Anyone know if there's a cure for that?
     
    EH56, Sep 20, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. EH56

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    There should be a setting under battery preference to shut off when external power is lost.

    You can turn auto zoom on or off but you can't stop it from returning from auto zoom mode if on.
     
    dhn, Sep 20, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I just re-checked. I see no battery preference setting anywhere nor do I see an "auto-zoom" setting. I looked at the "guided tour" also and it says you can zoom the map in or out temporarily with its +/- buttons (which I know) but that it always re-sizes. That's what I find annoying.
    Any known updates fix either issue?
     
    EH56, Sep 20, 2009
    #3
  4. EH56

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Do you have 'show more menu options' selected? And what version application do you have (tap the satellite bars to see).

    I may be mistaken .... often am .... but thought all units running the latest application have the battery saving options.
     
    dhn, Sep 20, 2009
    #4
  5. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Version 6.522 and yes, show more options selected.
     
    EH56, Sep 21, 2009
    #5
  6. EH56

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,131
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You have a very old application (2 yrs or so).

    Try updating the application using Home and see if you get more options.
     
    dhn, Sep 21, 2009
    #6
  7. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, now version 6.525 (latest) and still no new features. I guess that's just the way it is then.
     
    EH56, Sep 22, 2009
    #7
  8. EH56

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    I have a 910. It is at least three screens into the menu I think but I have an icon for battery and then after you get into it there is a check box for OFF when power is disconnected.
     
    drledger, Sep 24, 2009
    #8
  9. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe mine's an early version or something because it's just not there. 3 pages of initial settings, 7 pages of user preferences yet nothing about battery shut off.
     
    EH56, Sep 25, 2009
    #9
  10. EH56

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The latest application version for the 910 is 7.903. Install Home 2.7 from here (if you don't already have that version), and try updating it again.

    However, be warned that recent version of the application disabled the auto-power-on.
     
    mvl, Sep 26, 2009
    #10
  11. EH56

    EH56

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, is there anyway to know if the latest version will actually improve anything? I'm concerned about losing auto-on but maybe if I knew I'd get auto-off plus something else, I might be tempted.

    Gotta say that I'm surprized that TomTom hasn't perfected the things I've mentioned here because I know older Garmins had everything working long ago.
     
    EH56, Sep 29, 2009
    #11
  12. EH56

    SpiritX

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, at least on the GO you can shut off auto-zooming.

    I just found out on the ONE that this can't even be done! Can you believe it? Who the heck would make an awful feature like this and not allow it to be disabled?

    My TomTom is going back to the store if there's no update which fixes this.
     
    SpiritX, Jan 19, 2010
    #12
  13. EH56

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I doubt there will be an update to this. I'd recommend returning your ONE, and getting either a GO or another brand.

    I didn't like auto-zoom at first, but have grown used to it. With auto-zoom, you really can't see surrounding roads so you have to just "trust" Tomtom directions. On an IQroutes model the directions are usually perfect so there's no reason you can't trust the directions.
     
    mvl, Jan 19, 2010
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.