Update maps or buy a new unit ?

Hello !!

I'm a real newbie to TomTom; I have a TomTom ONE New Edition that I have used maybe 20 times since I bought it over a year ago.

I recently received an email from TomTom offering a 4 map update [over 1 year] for $40. I also have a code for $10 off any purchase, so I was looking at $30 to update for a year which is not bad. It turns out howver I'm using map version 665.1293 and I'm told that I have to update that map for $40 [after I use my code] and THEN i can subscribe to the 4 map update.

So, I'm looking at $40 to update to map version 7 or higher and then $40 for the map updates = $80. Am I better off just buying a new unit ? I am a casual user .. maybe 1 trip a month or so.

Thanks in advance.

Good question. After doing all the updates to the current map and then subscribing to 4 more updates for the unit, you're still left a year from now with a model that doesn't have the recent mapping features of IQ routing and I'm not sure whether Advanced Lane Guidance comes on maps for your models.

And if you do get a map subscription, it is NOT transferable to a different unit should you decide to upgrade the unit within the year.

If the map you're using is reasonable for your needs then updating will be an improvement, no doubt.

But there are newer models out there now that already will have the latest map and updated pois, etc.

No right answer....just some consideration.

for me since the units are getting so cheap i would purchase a more advanced unit. But this is me, you have to make the choice. Choose one with 1q routing , advance lane guidance and text to speech and the latest maps. But you have to choose monitarily which is best for you

Thanks dhn !! I figured that might have been a dumb question. :eek: However, I am not able to see or read the announcement at the top of each forum !!

I get this:

01-22-2009 until 01-22-2012