TOMTOM'S Frequency Response ?

Whatsup forum!

I really hope you guys can help me with this one.

I'm a sound engineering student and we have received a project to do a GPS voice over.
Now I have recorded the all commands and I would just like to know what the frequency response of a TomTom Gps is, for Compression and Equalization purposes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Welcome to TTF.

One of our supermods, Andy_P, happens to be a sound engineer!!!

So, check back into this thread as I'm sure he'll see (and respond) to the post when he logs in.

Absolutely ZERO idea. Take a scope to your recorded results and look at the 'crispy' sounds like a "T" and "S" in the command "turn around when possible". A sibilant like an "S" seems the most likely place to find the highest frequencies.

Did you record these from the speaker, or from the audio output of one of the older units, or a Bluetooth audio connection, or ???

Hmm... interesting question. I presume you mean the basic frequency response of the digital audio system and not the overall response including the analogue amp and loudspeaker?

Simple answer: I don't know any of the hardware specs.

But what I have just done is take one of the "standard" TomTom voices, (UK voice Jane - data05.chk) and used "VifTool" to split it into the 58 individual sound files ("turn right" etc.)

Each of those is a 22050Hz 32-bit mono OggVorbis file, so I suspect that 22050Hz is going to be the native frequency response of the device electronics.

Next I put one of the individual files (I used the phrase "Six hundred" so it has plenty of sibilant HF energy) and put it into Adobe Audition's Spectral View display....

attachment.php

As you can see, there is plenty of useful audio upto around 11kHz (scale on right) as you'd expect from the 22050Hz sample frequency.

Hope that helps... If you've any other questions I'll do my best to answer!

I can also help with the tools needed to actually compile a working TomTom voice