How do you use Edit POI ?

TomTom Model(s)
Go Live 1534TM
I am new to TomTom's. I have a GoLive1535TM, and I wanted to add a POI to an existing category. I was able to do that, but I made an error that I'd like to correct before I contact MyTomTom.

When I go to Edit POI, I can bring up the faulty POI, but when I touch Select, it just goes away, and I can not access it.

How are corrections/editings done?

Thanks for any suggestions.

PtlyCldy

Not intuitive, is it? Use "Map corrections" / "Correct a map error" / right arrow / "Add missing POI" or "Edit POI" or whatever you need to do. From there, you can add or edit a POI in an existing category, and your addition or change will go out via the MapShare system to TomTom and potentially, other users as well.

The confusion arises because there are TWO different types of POIs on the TomTom devices.

The first type are the built-in POIs. These are not editable, except by Mapshare

The "Edit POI" menus are just for the second type, the "user" POIs which you can add yourself, either by crrreating them on theunit itself (using "Add POI category") or by manually adding the POI files using 'MyTomTom' on the newer models like yours, or TT Home or Windows Explorer on the older ones

Thanks, both Andy P and canderson --

I guess I've made a mess. I was using the "map correction" button to add the animal shelter to Government offices. It appeared to do that fine, but I didn't have the phone number and thought I could use the POI edit button to add it later.

Looks like I can not do that. Then, when you do use the map correction and make an error, how can you get it back, erase it, or edit?

I guess what I would like to know is how does MapShare work?

Ah, I see now. You should be able to modify your addition (see at ***, below). I'll try to answer both your general and specific questions.

MapShare entries should not be undertaken lightly .. as you'll understand after the following explanation.