Horrible Experience-Don't Buy TomTom If You Are a Mac SnowLeopard User

My daughter purchased a TomTom XL335T for me as a Christmas gift. I'm a MacBook Pro user running OS 10.6.5 (Snow Leopard) and my daughter purchased the unit because in the packaging, it claims the unit software is compatible with Mac OSX.

I used the unit once and discovered the maps were out of date. So, I connected it to my computer to register and update it. That's when the fun and games began. Partway through the update, an error occurred and my unit was ejected (improperly, it said) and the process aborted. I wasn't particularly concerned until I discovered that I now had no maps on my unit. When you get the "No maps found" message on your unit, it means there is no data. You get no other screen options at all.

I called tech support and waited 30 minutes for an agent. A process was emailed to me. The next day, a Sunday, I spent the entire day following that process sent to me by tech support as well as others suggested on the Internet in a vain attempt to restore my maps. No tech support was available on Sunday, so I was forced to wait.

Monday, I called tech support and was told it was a compatibility issue between OS 10.6.5 and TomTom Home. They said it was a recent issue and they were working on it. Hmmm....Snow Leopard has been out for how long???? How many TomTom users are there running Snow Leopard??? Indeed, a quick check on the Internet after the phone call revealed that this problem is NOT new at all and there are many frustrated users out there wondering why this issue has not been addressed.

The solution suggested for me? Go to the library and use their computer...find a family member who will let you update on their computer....WHAT?